We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real class act”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Under new management for the last couple of years, this boutique property has been made into one of the nicest and most comfortable places we have ever stayed at. From the smartly uniformed doorman who greets you at your car, to the personnel behind the counter where you check in, to the refreshments offered to you as you check in, to the beautiful lobby with classical artwork, to the bellman who takes your bags, to the housekeeping personnel who leave a snack and drink in your room each evening, to the servers in the restaurant, to the complimentary internet terminal service, everything is done in the politest, most sophisticated, classiest, and most friendly manner. The complimentary breakfast is a veritable banquet. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the African Craft Market, the Rosebank Mall, and many fine restaurants.

Room Tip: A south-facing room on an upper floor will overlook the Rosebank Mall and offer a view of the centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear BernieDan,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel, it is truly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we're pleased to learn that the team looked after you throughout your visit. We do hope you'll visit again when you next cross our shores.

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 649 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am a regular traveller, and the exquisite spoils of 54 on Bath, situated in the heart of Rosebank, Johannesburg, took me by surprise.

From the excellent room- and turn-down-service, to the cleanliness, the friendly assistance throughout, professional and prompt check-in and check-out; to the delicious meals at the Level 4 Restaurant, quick elevators, luscious interior and fantastic view - it was a memorable experience of note.

We stayed over Valentine's weekend, and were treated to welcome drinks and delicatessen, rose petals on the King size bed, and delectable macaroons and strawberry dacquiris in our room.

I would HIGHLY recommend the hotel to anyone; and would gladly return for another stay!

Very, VERY impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl-Heinz-Michel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Karl-Heinz-Michel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Valentine's Day was an extra special day for the team to let their creativity flow and we're pleased that you both enjoyed all the extra special touches put together for you. Do remember that 54 on Bath is where Joburg comes to celebrate so we hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked for a work commitment by my local colleagues. Recently refurbished in style. Generous rooms and bathroom. View out to the lane pool and two long windows. The staff were very engaging - down to the chef asking me if I had enjoyed breakfast when we met in the lift!

Centrally located and great value ( perhaps by European standards but it seemed great). Would definitely choose to return if I'm back.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear HT1359,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are extremely fortunate to have a combination of a great hotel and a great location but our guest experience is down to the great team of staff that run the show. Despite being open for a very short period of time we find that most of our day to day arrivals are repeat guests and we'll take great pleasure to welcome you back next time you are in Johannesburg.

Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed there on the 14th Feb 2014. The service is the best I ever received from the time I drove up!!!!!!!!!!!!
Very clean and the staff are all friendly!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms are very comfortable
The dinner and breakfast was the finest and a 1st for me.
I must go back there soon..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabianbag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Fabianbag 123,

Thanks so much for leaving your review on Trip Advisor. It's great to learn that you loved your stay over recently, it is our ultimate aim to ensure that all our guests have an experience like this. We look forward to having you return again very soon!

Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I enjoyed all that the hotel had to offer during my stay there. I was in a standard room but it was quite big and had everything i could ask for in a hotel room. The service was really good at all time of the day. The only negative is the size of the shower, a bit to small.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Manny R,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are proud to have lived up to delivering a memorable experience and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I frequently travel to Johannesburg, have stayed at many other hotels and choose 54 on Bath whenever I can. The service is excellent - very friendly, prompt and professional. The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet. I enjoy the restaurant - particularly when I am able to eat outdoors! The location is very good in relation to the Gautrain (to and from the airport and Sandton) and all the shops and restaurants of Rosebank. This place deserves the rave reviews it gets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Richard P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate it. It is always a pleasure to welcome you home to 54 on Bath when you are in Johannesburg. Your sentiment is exactly what we set out to acheive when we opened the hotel 18 months ago and it brings great delight to the team to hear we are acheiving our goals and making a difference to our guests' experience.

Or fourth floor terrace garden is a wonderful place to eat alfresco, just this morning almost all of our guests elected to eat outside. Aside of the great views, the tranquility of the lawns and the natural shade of our London Plane trees it gives one a great feeling of being metres from the city yet miles from the fuss.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Mall is under construction in Feb 2014.
The Mall escalators were not working and there were no signs to help you find your way to an exit or back to the hotel.
Heavy construction work makes it unsuitable for tourist access from the second floor bridge from the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dea Richard D,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to review 54 on Bath on Trip Advisor, Yes, the mall is a little bit tricky to navigate at the moment as they upgrade their facility however within the next few weeks this will be more manageable, and very soon after that we'll have a completely new walkway built and decorated. Sorry you had to see it at it's worst but we have passed on your observations to mall management to address.

I hope we can welcome you back to 54 on Bath next time you are in Johannesburg and I'm sure by then you'll see a world of difference.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
808 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $246 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing