We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience ever!”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I'm from around Johannesburg and never had I thought when I wanted a break away from life's busyness, I will find the best right next door. My husband and I had a fantastic time at your hotel. arriving on friday, to find our room all set for a romantic night as we were celebrating our anniversary, was the top of the cream. The food at the restaurant was nothing less than perfect. Thank you so much for a time well spend. Looking forward to visiting very soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise. Totally loved my room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itumeleng2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Itumeleng2013,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your expereince of 54 on Bath. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and we're very pleased that we could make a difference on such a special occasion. The nice thing about anniversaries or birthdays is that they come round every year so there is always a good reason to visit us again some time soon!
Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for 54 on Bath
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 615 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the time you arrived at the hotel to the time you departed you were overwhelmed with friendliness and helpfulness!! Nothing is too much for the staff. The newly refurbished bedrooms are elegantly designed and offer great comfort. I stayed on the 8th floor overlooking the pool and well manicured gardens. After making the reservation to stay at the hotel the hotel sent me a preference list to complete so that they understand me and what my needs are – great touch well done!! The food is fantastic! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms must b fantastic!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear ReinhardV,

Thank you for sharing your experience of 54 on Bath on Trip Advisor.We are delighted you noticed some of the small details that made a big difference to your stay. We do hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to a ladies afternoon tea in a large group and it was really good , the service was excellent and the food was presented on beautiful pink and green plates ( very harvey nics) and the hotel decor was beautiful well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear JillyB371,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor it is very much appreciated. Apologies first off for the delay in responding but we have been extremely busy of recent. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to 54 on Bath, it's not every day that one can claim to have taken afternoon tea with British Royalty but our venue matched the significane of the event. It certainly was a most memorable day! We do hope you visit again next tme you are in Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

54 on Bath is a magnificent hotel with great attention to detail. Our room was superb, spacious and had luxurious linen, bath towels and toiletries. The coffee and tea making facilities in the room absolutely top notch. The Level Four Restaurant serves delicious food - a great culinary experience. The staff are efficient, friendly and well trained in hospitality. Highly recommended. Well situated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear ChanelP,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and apologies for my delay in sending this response. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and visit to the hotel - we always appreciate our Joburg based guests who decide to celebrate an occasion or just leave the city behind on a weekend, the hotel is a perfect venue for such an escape.
Great to hear you enjoyed our little Illy coffee machines in the room, they are extremely popular with our guests and do make the most wonderful coffee. We do hope to have you visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

All the staff at the hotel were very polite and couldn't do enough for you. The restaurant food was top quality and good value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay within the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Martyn B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for recognising our staff. We do trust it will not be too long before you visit us once again.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Elegant and classy! Beautiful rooms and bathrooms. My wife and I spent 2 nights over a weekend and had a fabulous time. Good breakfast and awesome coffee machine in the room. Lovely shower experience with half frosted window over looking the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187yas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear 187yas,

Thanks for your Trip Advisor review and apologies for taking so long to reply.We are extremely happy that you visited us and that you enjoyed your stay. I note from your comment abouth the shower that you stayed in one of our corner rooms - they are great rooms - slightly bigger than the rest with an extra window and the "shower with a view", I'm glad you enjoyed it. Admittedly the shower scares some guests - especially those that open the window!

Hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This used to be the famous and popular "The Grace Hotel", which recently had a refurbishment and subsequently became 54 on Bath. Very stylish. Plush lounge with bar and piano. The Level Four Restaurant has a terrace and lap-pool on the 4th floor, with an exquisite High Tea selection. Valet parking available, as well as secure undercover parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear JacquesMonica,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. As you mention 54 on Bath is the re-incarnation of the famous Grace Hotel in Rosebank and whilst our remodelling has turned the style and decor on its head we believe our service matches that of the old hotel in its heyday – I hope this is the impression you felt. Level Four really is a special venue and to enjoy a traditional afternoon tea in the serene surroundings of the terrace garden is something to be celebrated and savoured. I see that we are on your doorstep so I hope to have you return very soon.

Kind regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $212 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing