We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Points for style and fabulous location directly across from the Rosebank mall. Private parking also nice.

But I can't say I liked the wifi that was off 1/4 of the time and glacially slow except after 11 pm. Or the towel rack that fell halway from the wall and wasnt repaired. Or the room service which didnt answer half the times I rang. Or the cleaning staff who came to my room at 8:30 pm. For the price, fair to expect better execution.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear MarkP_9,

Thanks very much for your honest review and valuable feedback - highly appreciated!

I am extremely sorry to learn your impression of our hotel and to hear that your stay was far from perfect. These specific complaints are not ones we receive often but I acknowledge we managed to miss the boat badly during your stay; as you can see from many of our other Trip Advisor reports this is not an example of our normal guest experience.

Our small hotel is designed for a very personal level of comfort and interaction but clearly were not able to match our personal philosophy with your expectations. Obviously we find this regretful and would love to have the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we can be. Next time you visit Johannesburg will you please let us know?

My sincerest apologies again and I trust to meet up with you personally next time you visit.

Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    102
    15
    2
    8
See reviews for
66
225
21
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very nice, extremely comfortable hotel in JHB with probably the friendliest and most efficient staff in the South African hotel industry. Superb service. Well appointed rooms and conveniently located. Not too big and nice personal touches. They really do look after their customers. Can't think of anywhere else to stay in JHB !!

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction going on so do ask for a room on the opposite side to that activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

54 on Bath is a breath of fresh air. So often one becomes accustomed to standardised hotel procedures across different brands, which includes amenities, services, and offerings. Then when it does happen that you get offered three shirts to be pressed complimentary on check-in, or served an individualised continental breakfast at your table the next morning, it not only alleviates some of the pressure and stress that goes with travelling, but also restores your faith in the hospitality industry that has become so complaint in their approach.

 

Back to 54 on Bath, everything from the décor, to soap dispensers, the beaded dog, trays of treats, big-screen TV (that is chronologically and logically tuned in), friendly and awesome staff, … there is just too much to mention...

 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Martin v

Thank you for your positive review. We do love what we do at 54 on Bath and it is gratifying to hear of our guests experience of the "little things" we offer that make a difference. Primarily we owe the credit to our great team of people that care for our guests and they derive great satisfaction from reviews such as yours, I'll share it with them later today.

I hope it's not too long before you return home to 54 on Bath.

Kind regards
Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have to say it was like coming home! .... I am sure that Mr and Mrs Brand are extremely proud of the legacy that once was The Grace and now is an exceptional 54 on Bath. From the friendliness of all the staff, everyone just willing to help, the attention to detail, the romantic turn down in our room, to that feeling of a home away from home..... we could not have had a better 1st wedding anniversary anywhere else! Thanks to you all for making it a most memorable one ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, General Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear PaulaM,

Thanks for taking your time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, I appreciate it. I was delighted to learn of your close association with the hotel and even more so when you have thoroughly enjoyed your anniversary with us. Please do return next year when your anniversary comes around again!

Kind regards
Jacques Moolman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

54 on Bath is a cut above the rest. Staff are incredibly kindness, friendly and professional. Everyday was a pleasure and every meal a delight! Its like home away from home! Thank you to the management and staff for making for an unforgettable experience! Xx

Room Tip: Have everything on the Level Four Restaurant menu! It's that good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighAnne_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear LeighAnne_Will,

Thank you for taking time our of your day to leave a review on Trip Advisor - we truly appreciate it. It was a great pleasure to look after you and we consider it a job well done when our guests feel like a visit is a home from home experience - this is very important to us.

We look forward to your next visit and hope you have lots of room to get through the menus at Level Four!

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels in Johannesburg. it was lovely before the refurb and since, it has been transformed. The decor has gone from country house to contemorary chic but it is a beautfullelegant space. The service is superb - always helpful but always discreet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLivingstone100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear DrLivingstone100,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinions on 54 on Bath on Trip Advisor, I appreciate your time in doing so. It gives me great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the property in its new guise as 54 on Bath hotel and I loo forward to making this your home from home when you travel to Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having previously stayed at its predecessor, the Grace Hotel, we were looking forward to checking out the updated 54 on Bath. We weren't disappointed. Very stylish and comfortable. The food is very good. Sitting in the lobby for coffee and tea is fun, and great for people-watching. The service especially is top-notch, and not just in the bar and restaurant. The people at reception and the bellmen, especially, were friendly and helpful. When we experienced a travel problem, the hotel manager and director of guest services checked in with us frequently to help us solve it, for which we were and are grateful. The hotel is well-located in Rosebank, and very convenient to the new, clean and very safe Guatrain, which we used several times to explore the area, even heading to Pretoria for a day. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The adjacent Rosebank Mall is going thru a major renovation. Not a problem for us. May want to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear WallyPetersen,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, I am extremely grateful.

It is wonderful for the guests of the former Grace Hotel to return and see what has evolved in its place. Apart from a stylish makeover we have not strayed from the beauty, elegance and history of both the prior business and the iconic building. Our aim is to take the hotel back to its heyday from guest recognition, friendliness to being a Joburg home from home; our team has already made great strides in doing so.

I look forward to welcoming you both back towards the end of the year, as you intimated when you were here in March. See you then!

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Property: 54 on Bath
Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing