We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 3 day stay!”
Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Simonne
Ranked #19 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived here after traveling for 35 hours, and we found it the perfect place to relax and recuperate. The shuttle to the hotel turned out way less than expected, and we got a free room upgrade as well. I've traveled all over the world and never seen such a unique hotel; you could explore for hours and still not find everything there is to see. The backyard is serene and peaceful, with all sorts of animals that accompany it. We found a huge tortoise walking the grounds, and made friends with the two dogs that live there as well. (The husky is shaved from the head down and it's the cutest thing I've ever seen). The breakfast was wonderful with fresh squeezed orange juice, and eggs any way you'd like. The staff was super attentive and catered to your every need. The only critique I have is more menu options for dinner, but besides that there were no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is my second visit to this unique establishment and each time I have been mesmerised by the surroundings and the new and interesting artifacts and décor that adorn the rooms and communal areas. Villa Simonne has the ability to be both peaceful and energetic at the same time, as in addition to providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation it also caters for functions. Whilst having the luxury touches of a hotel, this family run boutique B&B maintains a personal, friendly approach which immediately makes you feel welcome and like one of the family. I can highly recommend Villa Simonne if you are visiting Johannesburg, it’s a must.

Room Tip: The Marrakesh Penthouse suite has a huge wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Three nights at Villa Simonne and loved every minute - like stepping behind the wardrobe in a CS Lewis novel...themed rooms with loads of character and great personal service from the manager Dimitri..altogether a brilliant and surprising refuge from the bustling city around it - you'll get lost in comfort here and properly relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewFreemantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in the Emperor Nero’s suite for 5 nights – an Italian themed suite which was meticulously thought out and lavish. I felt like Nero himself. I didn’t want to leave… and nearly didn’t. The hotel is gorgeous, and the service is friendly, and down to earth. The only thing that could be criticized is the limited amount of channels on the DSTV bouquet, but who in his right mind stays at a place like this with the intention of watching TV? Although Johannesburg is not my favorite city, I will definitely be making an excuse to return just to stay for a few more nights. I highly recommend Villa Simonne – something not to be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having to attend a wedding on the 21st of September 2013 at Shepstone Gardens, as referred by the bride, I chose Villa Simonne as my accommodation for the evening after the wedding. Upon browsing Villa Somonne's website to make the booking, I couldn't help my decision to extend my initial booking with an extra night. Apart from their quick and informative service/respose via e-mail prior to my stay, the service during my stay in the Gesha penthouse suite from the check-in to the check-out was 5 star indeed. I assured the Hotel Manager, Shawn Gouveia, that Villa Simonne will definitely see me again. What an exquisite place!

Room Tip: Tell the staff at Villa Simonne what it is that you need and trust that they will fulfill it beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathilda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

One of the most memorable places I've ever had the pleasure to stumble across on my travels. If you have the time, this is a boutique hotel that will leave you speechless. Every room is designed with meticulous detail and the service is executed with a personal and impeccable manner by the guy that runs it (dimitri). If you want a great experience in jhb, stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I typically prefer bigger Hotels because of the level of service and convenience, but after this stay, I am beginning to appreciate the Boutique concept. I was pleasantly surprised by the individual attention. My needs seemed to be anticipated throughout my 3 day stay, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - The manager even organized a last minute conference venue at the hotel for me at a very reasonable rate.

The suite i stayed in was stunning (Try the New Orleans Penthouse Suite), breakfast was consistently delicious, and unlike chain hotels, there was so much to do in terms of entertainment... Perfect atmosphere for work and leisure. I won’t stay anywhere else when in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIMITRI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
3.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Address: 16 West Street | Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $98 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Themed Suites - From Marrakesh to Moulin Rouge... Villa Simonne offers exemplary accommodation in the heart of Houghton, as well as an exquisite venue for events and conferences. Borrowing design cues from bygone eras and inspired by the most enchanting cities of the world, the Art Deco boutique hotel conjures up vintage images of Casablanca, and comes to life like the pages of a Hemingway novel. Combining an exclusive location with breath taking scenery, Villa Simonne is a unique experience, and one you are not likely to read about in a travel guide. Accommodation Each suite is designed for comfort, and is uniquely styled with custom-made furniture and art deco pieces, to stimulate the imagination and enhance your stay. Guests have a choice of: Standard suites Deluxe suites 2-bedroom apartments Presidential suite – study, bedroom, walk in closet, steam room, Jacuzzi Wellness Villa Simonne incorporates a health track for those looking to recover and rejuvenate, or simply wanting to look and feel their best. All treatments are done in the comfort of the estate by our integrative network of health care professionals: dietician, specialist therapists and clinical psychologist. Our wellness menu ranges from beauty treatments, to holistic heath care and therapies. Massage Fresh juices Beauty Treatments – nails, facials, hair, waxing Botox and Fillers Ayurveda oil treatments Yoga classes Sauna Jacuzzi Psychotherapy – hypnotherapy and other modalities Entertainment and Events Villa Simonne’s event area is dramatically themed according to ancient cities and bygone eras, and may be hired out as the perfect backdrop for outstanding and memorable events – weddings, dinner parties, high teas, corporate and team-building events, casino evenings, as well as exclusive private parties. Conferencing The estate is complete with both indoor and outdoor conference areas, while the entertainment and breakaway areas create a comfortable destination where corporate guests can enjoy business meetings throughout the day, and a sophisticated social atmosphere in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing