We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
138
27
8
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
27
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthemed roomsmoulin rouge suitemanager lukeparty venuespecial eveningunique stylewe've stayedcomfortable roomseach morningsimonegardentortoisesconference
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 179 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Having stayed in hotels from New York to Berlin to Tel Aviv to Cochin, I was really surprised to find the best boutique hotel right here in Joburg at Villa Simonne. its cinematic bar, luxuriously comfortable rooms and just plain good service make this place an experience that's hard to forget. The well-located hotel with its luscious garden setting is styled so authentically, you may think you've wandered into an artful dream. By far the most impressive feature is its charismatic host whose attention to detail and genuine hands-on hospitality add a personal touch that brings the whole place to life. And the food is great, with very decent vegetarian options. I'd recommend Villa Simonne to anyone looking for a deeply satisfying and inspiring stay in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avastar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is neither a boutique hotel or a bed-and-breakfast, but moreso a combination of the two. With that said it is the most unique place I have ever stayed. The atmoshpere is phenomenal with an eclectic charm with suites ranging from the Marakesh to the Maharaja. Further, the hospitality of the staff was second to none. Villa Simonne is truely a unique experience. I HIGHLY recommend to anyone staying in the Jo'Burg area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'm not sure I have words to describe Villa Simonne. It's truly a one-of-a-kind gem. Well, no, actually, it's 13 of a kind, because that's how many differently themed suites they have. Plus lovely gardens, great staff, the best breakfast, the barmiest bar you'll ever see and coffee whenever you want. And it's an absolute bargain compared to other hotels in Joburg. Even if you have to stay in the centre for business reasons, I thoroughly recommend you treat yourself to a couple of days at Villa Simonne. And if you need a venue for a wedding, or a business dinner, they can cater that too...

Room Tip: They're all unique, but the Marrakesh is hard to beat...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littledutchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

After a very disappointing stay at another Johannesburg hotel, I am so lucky that I found Villa Simonne. It is truly a unique accommodation in the middle of bustling Johannesburg. The hotel is like no other and filled with character. From the minute you drive in through the gates, you are surprised with the wonderful ambiance and charm. It is such a special place with a very rich background.

Everyone that works at Villa Simonne is extremely attentive and lovely. They will do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable and will help in any way possible.

The rooms are charming and create a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Make sure to stroll around the building and property as there are many unique areas that add up to one great location.

And do not miss trying the food. The recent addition of the restaurant is wonderful - my dinner was divine.

Overall, a great stay and I am so happy to have found Villa Simonne!

Room Tip: They are all different and unique!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegloberover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayd at Villa Simmone for one evening. I must say, we were pleasantly surprised with the decor, ambiance and friendly staff. The breakfast were also excellent, and not to mention the lovely garden. This place is a must for any couple that would like to take a break from their normal daily routine. Well done guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Marakesh is very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlize m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews