We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond Forever - apologies to James Bond :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Simonne
Ranked #14 of 279 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Diamond Forever - apologies to James Bond :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent a magical week in Joburg recently. The work not so much, but evenings were filled with camaraderie, conversations and flow of ideas all inspired no doubt by ample supplies of brandy and hot water and other libations of global flavors

The Inn keeper's heir apparent - Mr Dimitri him of the radical alternative medicine specialty has now come back to take care of the business affairs of this wonderful B&B established by his father

This B&B is inspired by the hot spots of the world -- Olympia, Bali, Rome Egypt with each room having objects d'art from those particular parts of the world. Valuable carpets adorn the place along with 2 family dogs who are very much a part of the B&B as their proprieters. And it works because is all nicely tended to by a very good wait staff fronted by the very able Nicole and other cast of characters

Would highly recommend this place for young couples romancing or older couples celebrating or indeed anybody who love all things eclectic in life. This is truly a throwback to an era passed that will never be regained. Do not miss having a drink at the "Hollywood" bar - a tribute to Hollywood actors of old, complete with its own casino table, jazz ensemble & disco ball to boot

I look forward to another trip to Joburg simply to relax at the bar or the garden area & get a flavor of what is a once in a lifetime B&B experience

Room Tip: All rooms are very different but choose the ones overlooking the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shri_Ranganathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    25
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
45
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My stay at Villa Simonne was so much more than i expected. An escape from reality & the hustle & bustle, yet 2 mins from the highway and corporate world, making it perfectly located!!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful in everyway, making my stay truly unforgettable.

Each area in Villa Simonne has so much history and culture, alot of effort and detail has gone into the decor. Its all so glamorous, elegant and interesting.

My suit, The Marakesh had a dreamy & classy feel (even romantic making it perfect for a couple), sitting on the bacalcony looking out onto the lucious garden, it was so peaceful, I felt like I was out in nature on a retreat.

I especially love the Grand Bar and Saloon, so unique!!

The garden looked magical & mystical. So beautiful, pitty about the rain, would have loved to see the night garden, I'll definitely see the magic on my next stay:)

I cant quite call Villa Simone a Guest lodge, its in a class of its own, like nothing Ive seen before. perfect for a couples retreat. business trips or even just an overnight stay, infact, there's so much to see & experience, one night is just not enough.

Thank you.... I'll Definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I booked in to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. It was a perfect in every way and a dream come true.

The atmosphere is incredible and the decor and attention to detail is amazing: we travel a lot and we have never seen anything like it.

The staff were wonderful, and went out of their way to make it an unforgettable weekend for us. They even set a romantic table for us in the garden on the African Queen Barge – a very special evening.

Special thanks to Nadine – you were amazing. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

“Wow, what an experience! I thought I had seen it all…until I arrived at Villa Simonne.
My job involves a lot of travel, and I’ve stayed at dozens of Hotels and Guest Houses around the world. Having said that, this is the first review I have ever taken the time to write. This place is special…very special!
Villa Simonne is a massive family home that has been converted into a boutique hotel. I stayed at the Villa for 6 days, and discovered a new hidden treasure every day.
What impressed me most was the amount of choice available in terms of entertainment. Unlike other Hotels or B and B’s where you are virtually kept prisoner in your room or the lobby, the Villa has a vast amount of entertainment areas and activities to unwind in or keep you busy.
If you feel like quite time, there are many beautiful little areas to hide in and not be found by anyone (I recommend the “Parthenon” or Boma area for this). If you’re in more of a sociable mood, you can play a game of snooker in the saloon, or socialize with other guests in the stunning “nightclub” (Yes, it actually has a nightclub, which is set in an early 20’s “prohibition theme.” It’s like you’ve fallen down a time portal). Absolutely beautiful.
The staff were perfect – efficient, accommodating and friendly.
The rooms were incredible – I stayed in the Hollywood Garden Suite – amazing! It was fully equipped with full kitchen, dining room, study, and more… Extremely good value for money!
Do NOT miss out – of you are ever in Johannesburg, this is the place to stay at!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for 4 unforgettable nights. I booked into in the Marrakesh Suite – it was a truly gorgeous and massive room – I did not feel like I was in Johannesburg at all. To me, this is not a Guest Lodge, nor a Boutique Hotel, but a unique environment in a class of its own. It has a hundred times more personality than your average hotel, and is even more luxurious. I spent most of my nights after work in the “Grand Nightclub” – an amazing room that made me feel like I was Humphrey Bogart in the movie “Casablanca”. The staff were extremely helpful and managed to strike the right balance between friendly and professional. The complementary breakfast was consistently delicious every morning, and the little touches like complimentary port and chocolate in the room made me feel welcome and at home. Great value for money, very central location. I could not find fault with anything, and I would recommend Villa Simonne to anyone. I plan on returning in a few months – this time with my wife, and checking into the Moulin Rouge Suite for a more romantic excursion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuantumT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I checked into this beautiful property in Houghton - Villa Simonne - and was truly awestruck by its grandeur and under-stated elegance. The place is more like a resort - a happy retreat - and less of a claustraphobic hotel room. The place is huge, and looks heavenly by the night, with the spectacular lights kissing the property from different angles. There is lot of greenery in here, and you wake up to the chirpings of birds - and yes, at times, the tranquility is disturbed only by silence itself. But most importantly, was truly overwhelmed by the hospitality showered - this place is more like an extended family. This place, and its staff so richly deserve this compliment - its like a second home to me, and cant wait to check in again in this grand place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaviRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed at this Villa twice and it is truly magical! Each room is a journey of discovery and delight - even the standard suites is ten times more spacious than your average city hotel room and much more affordable!
Around each corner there is something special - whether in the beautiful gardens or the main villa.
The staff is extremely professional and always willing to go the extra mile. I will definitely be back for more visits and would highly recommend this for anyone who is tired of the generic, cramped and boring city hotel. Villa Simonne ROCKS!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.1 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Property: Villa Simonne
Address: 16 West Street | Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Themed Suites - From Marrakesh to Moulin Rouge... Villa Simonne offers exemplary accommodation in the heart of Houghton, as well as an exquisite venue for events and conferences. Borrowing design cues from bygone eras and inspired by the most enchanting cities of the world, the Art Deco boutique hotel conjures up vintage images of Casablanca, and comes to life like the pages of a Hemingway novel. Combining an exclusive location with breath taking scenery, Villa Simonne is a unique experience, and one you are not likely to read about in a travel guide. Accommodation Each suite is designed for comfort, and is uniquely styled with custom-made furniture and art deco pieces, to stimulate the imagination and enhance your stay. Guests have a choice of: Standard suites Deluxe suites 2-bedroom apartments Presidential suite – study, bedroom, walk in closet, steam room, Jacuzzi Wellness Villa Simonne incorporates a health track for those looking to recover and rejuvenate, or simply wanting to look and feel their best. All treatments are done in the comfort of the estate by our integrative network of health care professionals: dietician, specialist therapists and clinical psychologist. Our wellness menu ranges from beauty treatments, to holistic heath care and therapies. Massage Fresh juices Beauty Treatments – nails, facials, hair, waxing Botox and Fillers Ayurveda oil treatments Yoga classes Sauna Jacuzzi Psychotherapy – hypnotherapy and other modalities Entertainment and Events Villa Simonne’s event area is dramatically themed according to ancient cities and bygone eras, and may be hired out as the perfect backdrop for outstanding and memorable events – weddings, dinner parties, high teas, corporate and team-building events, casino evenings, as well as exclusive private parties. Conferencing The estate is complete with both indoor and outdoor conference areas, while the entertainment and breakaway areas create a comfortable destination where corporate guests can enjoy business meetings throughout the day, and a sophisticated social atmosphere in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing