We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Carolle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Carolle
Ranked #47 of 289 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have never stayed in Johannesburg and being from Mozambique we were very reluctant to stay in a guesthouse. Arriving at Chateau de Carolle we were surprised by the lovely and cosy cottage. Everything was very clean and comfortable, better than that however was the owner Carol. She immediately made us feel welcome and helped us in every way possible, including indicating best routes and places to go during our stay. We loved staying there and we will definately return on a next trip tp JHB. The attention to details and comfort of guests was beyond expectation.
Carol runs a 3 star guesthouse with a 5 star service.

Monica and Jorge C

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Monica & Jorge C

I appreciated your reviews posted on Tripadvisor that our 3 Star Guesthouse delivers 5 Star service to guests.

We look forward to your return to stay with us again.

Regards

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
12
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
JHB
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am currently residing as a guest at Chateau de Carolle and having being a guest for the last 4 months. I must say that the service that I am receiving is a shining example of what the hospitality industry should be. The location is fantastic, a stunning neighbourhood to walk in and close to all amenities as well as some terrific restaurants.

I will surely recommend Chateau de Carolle to anyone who would like to experience great service and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prenesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our valued hospitality.
We look forward to having you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafikeng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at Chateau de Carolle twice in recent months and on both occasions it fully met our expectations. The accommodation is furnished, equipped and maintained to an unusually high standard, and far exceeds that normally found. Carol is very welcoming and clearly concerned that her guests should enjoy their stay. The kitchen in the self catering unit is very well appointed, the breakfast arrangements were fine, and the location is such that one does not need to travel far for an evening meal. It is in a pleasant and quiet residential area, and we will certainly stay there again in future. Altogether extremely comfortable accommodation and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We so enjoyed each of your visits & the fact that as guests you laid on the playing of the most beautiful music, was my appreciation. From afar your handsome son could be heard rehearsing his classical pieces which made for dignified elegance for too short a while.
We look forward to hearing more pieces sometime soon with an added request - to please play for longer intervals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed at Chateau de Carolle a few times now and have just thoroughly enjoyed the Homeliness, hospitality and especially the comfort of the rooms and the quite serenity of the residence. Nothing is too much for the Owner Carol, and the detail of all that is provided, from breakfast snacks, the offer of laundry and the peaceful atmosphere of the home is truly magnificent. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and exquisitely appointed, with more than what you would need! The location is close to shopping, Golfing and other attractions in Johannesburg. Carol also has excellent recommendations for close by restaurants as well. A magic stay as always, and I shall always return, as it will be hard to find better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Andy

Many thanks for the reviews which you have placed on TripAdvisor after your recent trips to Chateau de Carolle in Johannesburg.

We look forward to your arrival again in August!

Regards

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Chateau de Carolle for five nights whilst I was recovering from surgery and subsequently two more overnight stays for follow-up visits when attending the hospital . I couldnt have had a better place to recuperate. The suite we stayed in was so well appointed and had every amenity we could have asked for. A very comfortable bed with beautiful linen and breakfast delivered to your room. The surroundings are very peaceful and Carol the owner who is always on site made our stay very enjoyable. More like a holiday than recovering from surgery!! We would have no hesitation in recommending Chateau de Carolle. It really was a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at Chateau de Carolle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Maureen & Brian

I appreciate your appreciation of our high value service & hospitality which we deliver with 5 stars!

I look forward to your next stay at Chateau de Carolle.

Regards

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#11 of 289 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.3 mi away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#36 of 289 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighwood Lodge
Leighwood Lodge
#19 of 289 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Doveton House
Doveton House
#41 of 289 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#30 of 289 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
#35 of 289 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Carolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Carolle

Property: Chateau de Carolle
Address: 100 Mowbray Road | Greenside, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Carolle 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Carolle Guesthouse with Bed and Breakfast offers accommodation in self-catering cottages & suites where independence, privacy & tranquillity is a consideration for business or leisure guests. Blend of enchanting collectables & antiques, interesting art, Persian rugs & stylish modern decor is what makes each room unique and full of character with home-from-home comforts to guarantee a good night's sleep. Many returning guests appreciate quality, comfort & excellence at our 4Star (TGCSA) graded guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de Carolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing