We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Knowing Mandela”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apartheid Museum

Apartheid Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.50*
and up
Full-Day Soweto City Tour with Apartheid Museum
Ranked #1 of 171 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is architecturally interesting and packed with thoughtful, often brutal, reminders of South Africa’s history.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
laguna, philippines
Level Contributor
429 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Knowing Mandela”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is in this museum that I learned about Mandela- his fight, his hardships and South Africa's healing to becoming a rainbow nation. The photos speak louder than words. It is depressing- but it is only in understanding the past that people may go forward. It was very educational and the way it was presented made one feel immersed in that time of apartheid.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,654
    1,168
    273
    54
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not as great as i expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

i was expecting something that would blow my mind and would truly put my knowledge of Aparthied to the test.
in all honesty, the most interesting part of the whole visit was the entrance with which 'blacks' and 'whites' had separate entrances.
The tiny screens showing movies on a loop were interesting, if you decided to stand there for 5 minutes while the queue was increasing behind you.
in all honesty, apartheid as played such an important role in SA's history and how it is behaving today both on a domestic and international level, not learning about more would be truly missing out.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maxime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eye opening and completely worth a vist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We came to Jo-burg to start an overland tour through Africa. Had 1 day to spare and decided to visit the Apartheid Museum. Have to say I knew so little about the Apartheid, and found the museum to be really informative, easy to negotiate and so tastefully put together. Allow a good 4-5 hours if you really want to read and explore everything.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Moving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I visited the Apartheid Museum as i wanted to get to know the history of South Africa, i was impresses by the layout of the building, the art truly moves you. I suggest to have at least three hours and take your glasses with some good bits of information are available as you stroll through the museum.

Heart warming and moving, definately a stop to consider on your trip to Johannesburg, South Africa.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A feel of the SA evolution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great walkthrough of the history and some nice commerative pieces such as car gifted to Nelson Mandela upon his release, which was made by voluntary labour from his supporters and parts given free by mercedes. If you want to learn all about Apartheid, this is the place to go.... you get a real feel through the multimedia, static elements and information.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideTravellerRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apartheid Museum also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Apartheid Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing