We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please clean the windows”
Review of Carlton Centre

Carlton Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.72*
and up
Private Johannesburg City Tour
Ranked #46 of 172 things to do in Johannesburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At fifty stories tall and four blocks long, this mixed-use urban landmark is the city’s largest commerce center.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please clean the windows”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The view is spectacular but can't figure out why all the windows were soooo dirty. It's watching the city through dirty glasses

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IL2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    64
    84
    39
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Don't go here if you want to feel safe. Yes, it has the highest viewpoint of Johannesburg. So what? You can see Johannesburg from many other safer, and cleaner spots.

It is filthy, in a horrid part of town, and has many unsavory characters hanging around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment don't go”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went on Fathers day to Cafe 50 a booking was made for 16 of us.What Cafe 50 failed to tell us you had to pay R15 p/p to get up to the Cafe and that you can only pay cash .This would have been a nice to know before we got to the 50th floor if we knew this we probably would not have gone at all .The table was not ready we had to pull our own tables together as the staff just stood and watched.No we were not staying here .
Off to the Spur to order breakfasts sunny side up soft eggs our three meals all hard eggs ,so we sent the food back ,when they brought soft eggs for us the Bacon,cheese grillers and toast was ice cold . No not a Fathers day to remember stay away from Carlton Centre

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelrotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Give it a miss!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Carlton has lost all of its former glory. It is derelict, lots of empty shops. Dodgy characters hanging around. You just don't feel safe

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“view worth seeing of Johannesburg city and downtown”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

In the heart of Johannesburg is the tallest building in Africa - the Carlton Centre. In its heydey it was a vibrant, bustling centre and the shopping centre was superb. With the decay of the inner city over the last 20 years and the reputation for crime, it declined and is only a fraction of its former glory. The big attraction is the 50th Floor which gives 360 degree views of the city, and this is a safe way to view the city from the eye of the eagle. The entrance fee is small, and there is safe parking opposite the centre.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThornteeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlton Centre also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Carlton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing