We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.90*
and up
Johannesburg Half-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #16 of 177 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tranquil gardens, walkways, shady arbors and benches make this sprawling park a popular respite from the pace of the city.
Rosebank, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scenic Park”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This park has wide open spaces for walks and dogs to run around. It is good to see a space where the dogs are free to run around, socialise and exercise.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Viresh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    179
    64
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Free”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a must see in Johannesburg. I didn't go on my first South Africa trip and so glad we fit it in for our second. This is a great location for anyone that loves the outdoors. You can bring a picnic and toss a Frisbee and hang out all day long looking at the gorgeous flowers and pond. If you want you can even take a small paddle boat out. Love this place!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place to go for a walk”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It's a nice place to go for a walk or relax and has some beautiful views. Overall it's a bit neglected and can do with some maintenance.

The rose garden was properly the best part for me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix_LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relax at Emmarentia Dam”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is a joy to see our parks being maintained and one can forgive City Parks for slipping up over the festive season. Many newly planted trees along the pathways have taken root. The seasonal rains have transformed the parkland. Many owners neglect to keep their dogs on a leash which is quite annoying for those who do. Noise levels are the only disturbing factor when groups decide to turn up the volume. The Botanical Gardens is a great place right on our doorstep to relax and unwind. From me it is big "thumbs-up".

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhino_Horn_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A very pleasant place in the middle of the city. there are lot of picnic spots and maintained very clean. There is also a very small stream of river inside and there is a lake where kayak owners do kayaking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Srinath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing