We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Suites for Business Travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Suites for Business Travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed with Hyatt for business. The staff were very friendly, went the extra mile. I was shown around my suite by the the staff to ensure that I had everything I needed. They checked on my comfort continuously and were very accommodating to all my requirements and requests. Will definitely recommend Hyatt for business and will certainly be back. Thank you for the great service.

Room Tip: Suites are great and have all the necessities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadinemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    231
    82
    26
    23
See reviews for
59
87
44
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed there on business. New hotel and very modern. I tried ostrich steak for the first time there and found it very good. The food in general is very good. Is modern and offers 5 star service that you would expect. Can't think of anything negative to say about the place, but generally Hyatt makes an effort to keep a good standard in all its hotels so you can expect good service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed four nights as the conference i was attending was held in the hotel. Generally, the rooms, service and facilities were good. The taxi from the airport took about half an hour and costs about 4600 Rand (though the private car offered by the hotel costs about 2000 Rand more). The hotel is connected to several shopping places and is convenient and safe, even in the night. There are many restaurants in the vicinity too. There were a few problems encountered by my colleagues incl check-in and check-out errors (wrong dates, incorrect billing). The breakfast was good though the same variety was offered every day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E.S.Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Calif
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

True, this is your standard Hyatt, but the location is great -- situated in the Rosebank Mall complex with great shops and restaurants nearby, and easy access to and from the airport, which is a huge plus for me. Joburg is generally hard to get around without a car but this area is safe and easy to get around, even at night. Wifi in the room and hotel was a little unpredictable, but the hotel's techie offered to loan me his personal iPad until the matter could be resolved. Certainly more than I had expected. Service everywehere was also pretty good. I normally stay at boutique hotels in this area and Sandton but the easy access to and from the airport may make this my hotel of choice in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbeLincoln115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hyatt overnight as we had a function to attend there. On arrival the hotel looked very impressive with its double volume foyer. We were shown to our conference check in tables, but to our great disappointment our rooms were not yet ready. It was 16h30 in the afternoon, so we were not too impressed.

After a half hour wait we were shown to our room only to discover that it was a smoking room. Back downstairs again the hotel managed to make a plan for us and we were assigned a non smoking room. The room was very clean with all the amenities you would expect from an hotel of this calibre. Having to unpack, shower and redress in 20 minutes we didn't take too much in. But what we did appreciate was the iron and ironing board. This prevented an emergency call down to housekeeping.

The bathroom was large with plenty of toiletries which all smelled delicious. We appreciated the mineral water next to our beds on our return to the room after dinner.

Breakfast the next morning was a typical hotel buffet and we weren't disappointed.

All in all, we found the hotel to be just another hotel with nothing good or bad really standing out. It suited our needs and if you want a room for the night that is clean and a good size in a central location then I guess this is your spot. We are however more Southern Sun people and I would look at what they have to offer first.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify if you want a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipps74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a typical Hyatt. Everything works. It's been established many years now so any wrinkles have long been ironed out. It is however utterly characterless. It could be any Hyatt in any city anywhere. So, if you want safe, predictable ,well run and efficient then stay here. We were travelling for work and hence the hotel was perfect for our needs. If you are travelling to joburg for a holiday you may want to consider a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you want to have a little space from the bubble of Sandton, this is the place to stay. It is a well appointed hotel with spacious rooms. Parking is annoying if you're driving a rental car because they make you pay for parking separate. The location is great with plenty to do, see, and eat in the Rosebank area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing