We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good, but not great (however best in Jo'burg area)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good, but not great (however best in Jo'burg area)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Coming to Jo'burg 6-8 times a year and tried many options: Pros of this hotels are location (Rosebank, attached to Mall, good dining options like The Grill and Fishmonger just outdoor if you exit hotel through gallery, Katzy's for music to name just a few good ones, and if you want to use the Gautrain from airport the stop is very close-I however always use the taxi which takes baout 30 minutes). Rooms are also of update, modern and good standard wit all you need to survive relaxed on a business trip. Service is friendly but often soooooo slow, especially N'dau breakfast/restaurant/ bar zone; often in deep sleep (or I do not know where else they are with their mind) and with limited motivation to do anything... On the negatives are the weak restaurant (compensated by great outdoor options next door, so do not worry-I would skip dining at the hotel completely), lousy and overpriced breakfast (a shame for a Hyatt brand hotel, depsite recently being upgraded from just Hyatt to Hyatt Regency - whatever this is supposed to mean...-only Hyatt marketing geeks will know. I see zero difference). Overall not really cosy public space (like bar, reception area, etc.). Very much business hotel atmosphere with a lot of "walk through". So overall - not my favoritre hotel and some caveats, but best you can get in Jo'burg after all I experienced

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Andry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    207
    76
    23
    21
See reviews for
49
73
42
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Where to next?
Level Contributor
400 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night during a brief stop-over in Johannesburg. This is a very elegant and well-appointed property, and the service was excellent. A great advantage is that it is located immediately adjacent to a pedestrian area full of nice restaurants, cafes and bars in Rosebank, so you don't need to get a car to go to dinner outside the hotel. We would have liked to stay longer, and would certainly stay here again. The only small complaint is that the hotel drivers who took us to and from the airport drove like maniacs through the various residential areas that we passed. Perhaps this was a safety precaution, but when you are not used to it this seems irresponsible!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,096 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The check-in and check-out were friendly and fast-- well done. The room itself was spacious, big window (that looked into an office building but did give natural light), good bed, desk area, ample closets, and great bathroom. The bed was very comfy with several kinds of pillows. internet was free, as i'm a marriott frequent stayer card holder, otherwise, it was about 250 rand for 24h, which is high. I ordered dinner via room service, and i had requested a burger+ veggies (not fries) and fruit. The burger was not edible-- meat was really odd--and i was given fries (not veggies), but at least the fruit was good. Room service needs some attention.... Also, someone came by at 9h to check my mini-bar-- but on a Saturday morning, that's just too early. The breakfast buffet had an excellent selection with really friendly waitresses---and soothing ambiance with jazz music. Location is about 20 min from the airport in a non-descript shopping/business area--- not really near any tourist areas. Overall-- a good business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenabaindelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had a truly traumatic exp at the Hyatt Regency Joburg recently. I was on a business trip , left in the morn for work locked my bag with a pad lock. I come back that evening to find that the zip has been pulled wiht the padlock and it was broken. I complained to the hotel authorities who patiently heard me out...offered to repair my bag.. investigate who did it etc.

They took my bag for repairing ang gave me a temp suitcase to put my stuff. I flew out in 2 days wiht my repaired bag...thankful that i did not lose stuff ,, and left the "temp" suitcase in my room. 2 days later i get a note from Hyatt asking me to return the "temp" suitcase as they assumed i had taken it along....as it has not been found in the room!!! so imagine someone stole twice from my room!!!! till date hyatt has not come back to me wiht any investigative results on who did it? who was responsible for breaking into my luggage? , yet have religiously asked me to send them the " temp " suitcase.... so much for customer service.....pathetic exp.......

they kept saying they have cameras in the foyer , but have not been able to let their customer who stole from her room twice!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Vishakha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I flew to South Africa in the late summer of 2012. we had a business event that I was organizing. the Hotel is quite grand. Hotel staff was plenty. everyone was always helpful and smiling. Executive floor treatment was really good

Room Tip: Executive Floor rooms are spacious, have their own lounge & breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebnemErcelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I has an excellent 6 night stay at this property. I was on a Regency Club floor and so had the use of the Regency Club. One of the best I have yet used. The staff were excellent and the location of this hotel to the Rosebank Mall which has been substantially upgraded with excellent restaraunts is great!

The gym is really way above hotel quality and the rooftop pool was very nice!

I cannot fauly anything in this property, except the basin in my room was cracked.

I highly recommend this property when visiting Joahnnesburg and look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: try and get on a Regency Clun Floor. The Lounge is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Return visit. Doormen could have been more helpful with luggage on arrival but otherwise staff were friendly and the accomodation and breakfasts were to usual high standard. Fortunately wifi was included in my room rate as otherwise at ZAR500 a day for high speed access it is very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing