We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Business men/women friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Business men/women friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you are conducting business in the area (Sandton, Melrose, Rosebank etc.) then you would be hard pressed to find anything much better. It is not a Grand Hyatt but it is perfectly functional and close to both the Rosebank mall and Gautrain station (20m minutes to the airport).
The rooms are spacious if a little plain and the food is reasonably priced and passable - although the beds are rather too hard for my liking. The staff are all friendly enough but this hotel has a reputation for maids with sticky fingers.
So lock up your belongings and relax after a hard day at the office - but it won't impress the wife or family as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are actually quieter than those overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    207
    76
    23
    21
See reviews for
49
73
42
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

It is a treat for locals to sample our five star hotels...

We had a delicious afternoon of Cocktail inspired relaxation after arduous shopping in 37degree Celsius heat.

Our waitress went out of her way to get cranberry juice for my Cosmo. It is a beautiful environment and making an effort to connect with the staff bodes well for a full experience of their friendliness...

Come try it out. Recommended by a Proudly South African Blissful Voyager :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Blissful_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

In December my husband & I stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the restaurant, the spa & the shopping mall that is connected to the hotel. This was a stopping point before starting our safari. Even though this is considered a business hotel it is very welcoming serving a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Forming part of the Rosebank shopping and entertainment development a great place for a 4 star business hotel with all you need. At first take the hotel does not appear to have many facilities but just outside in the mall is all you need for a relaxing weekend of shopping, eating and relaxation - we had a great time and organised via a very helpful concierge a great half day (++) mini safari in a game park, great fun! Stayed on club floor which was really good a real treat after two days on the train up from Cape Town

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hyatt has a nice layout and good location but is somewhat overrated. Staff was pleasant and attentive but the facilities lack five star quality - the gym, although newly renovated, is too basic. Internet did not work at all, then at certain floors only. Laundry did not quite get instructions right. Front desk failed to register that I wanted to prolong for a day.

But the bar area is great for meetings and the hotel is convenient for the Rosebank Malls

Room Tip: Away from Oxford Rd - noisy traffic and not overly insulated windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nairobijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on my way through Johannesburg. The location is great with lots of shopping nearby. I found the service to be quick and prompt for the most part, which is VERY good for South Africa in general..... If you enjoy shopping, enjoy the usual Hyatt service and want to feel safe and comfortable, I would stay here.

Room Tip: Pool is a bit small, however the spa area and gym are good for a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am a Diamond member with Hyatt, which mean I spend a minimum 50 night per year at one of their Hotel. The Hyatt JO as nothing special, the service is slow and not accommodative. You get nickel and dimes on anything. The pool is small and has almost no chair around, so you are left with having to lay on a towel on wet concrete floor. However the location is great and you have access to one of the largest mall in the city directly from the hotel. If you are to pick a Hyatt hotel in South Africa, choose the one in George, a much better experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing