We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on my way through Johannesburg. The location is great with lots of shopping nearby. I found the service to be quick and prompt for the most part, which is VERY good for South Africa in general..... If you enjoy shopping, enjoy the usual Hyatt service and want to feel safe and comfortable, I would stay here.

Room Tip: Pool is a bit small, however the spa area and gym are good for a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    207
    76
    23
    21
See reviews for
49
73
42
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am a Diamond member with Hyatt, which mean I spend a minimum 50 night per year at one of their Hotel. The Hyatt JO as nothing special, the service is slow and not accommodative. You get nickel and dimes on anything. The pool is small and has almost no chair around, so you are left with having to lay on a towel on wet concrete floor. However the location is great and you have access to one of the largest mall in the city directly from the hotel. If you are to pick a Hyatt hotel in South Africa, choose the one in George, a much better experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I echo other recent reviewers' comments. This is a quality hotel in a good location in the Rosebank complex. Service and food are very good and the open air pool (6th floor?) is very relaxing after a tough day. It's easy to walk out to the many restaurants nearby, so I did not get the chance to try the hotel restaurant, but i will next time.

Room Tip: Try the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually give five stars for my reviews , but this was an exception. We stayed at the Hyatt regency, Rosebank , Jo'burg for 3 nights, and it was worth the money we paid. The location must really be commended. Situated right behind the sprawling Rosebank mall area, direct access via the hotel too. We being vegetarians had very few options for dinner during the New Year's Eve , with all the restaurants outside being closed. However , the staff at the all day cafe was so nice, they delivered us nice veggie sandwiches with fries to our room, which was really great!!!! Great work guys!
The breakfast was also commendable , the only suggestion would e to have a counter for hot food in the dining area itself , instead of us ordering for it every time from the back counter.
The concierge were very helpful, they booked us a guided tour of the lion park, which was awesome!
The gym was also very well maintained and was pleasantly surprised to find it open 24 hours!
Overall , a great hotel to stay in!
Will return for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sreekesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a beautiful place and the service is perfect. Friendly and helpful staff that helps you in organizing your stay. The rooms are nice, clean and luxurious as you may expect from this hotel branch. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, multiple types of fish, cheeses, bread and fruits. There is also a good fish restaurant in the shopping mall. While this is Hyatt, Wifi is only free at the bar, a little pathetic nowadays. Also, some staff members were not helpful to my wife, there is still a gap between man and woman in South Africa. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was closed due to maintenance but the gym offered a good place to work out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
538 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was met at the airport as agreed and received a room on the Hyatt Gold floor (I am a member). The room is just your typical good size business hotel room. The bathroom, however, is larger and nicer than in many hotels, with black marble, a separate shower, a large soaking tub, and a very fluffy robe. There is a safe and an ironing board, a TV, an ipod docking station, and a mini bar (haven't looked yet).
The lobby, especially the outdoor part, is very scenic and seems like a great place to while away the afternoon (which I hope to do later this week). The spa is very nice (and super affordable - I just had a 90 min African massage, a 30 min scrub+spa tub soak, and bought a jar of product the massage therapist used - all for ZAR 1200 - which is just over EUR 100 I think; I only wish they had fresh fruit and hot tea) and so is the gym - again, larger than in many hotels and well equipped with modern machines.
There is a fantastic looking small outdoor pool which I haven't tried, a steam room, a sauna, and a hot tub.
Overall a great choice and I would not hesitate to recommend. Haven't tried their food, but breakfast selections, which I am looking at now for tomorrow, look good (and cheap!) with plentiful continental, egg, fruit, yogurt, cereal, meat, etc. options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Johannesburg was my last stop in South Africa and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for four nights with a safari in between. I really have to compliment the staff - everyone was terrific. I decided at the last minute to do a safari and the hotel was able to rejig my reservation allowing me to go to Pilanesberg for three days. The hotel is connected to what seemed like a couple of different malls which was convenient because the Hyatt in a residential neighbourhood. The rooftop pool was beautiful and the gym modern and well equipped. This is an excellent hotel to get work done, or for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeymaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing