We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“5star with some remarks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“5star with some remarks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a beautiful place and the service is perfect. Friendly and helpful staff that helps you in organizing your stay. The rooms are nice, clean and luxurious as you may expect from this hotel branch. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, multiple types of fish, cheeses, bread and fruits. There is also a good fish restaurant in the shopping mall. While this is Hyatt, Wifi is only free at the bar, a little pathetic nowadays. Also, some staff members were not helpful to my wife, there is still a gap between man and woman in South Africa. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was closed due to maintenance but the gym offered a good place to work out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    191
    69
    21
    20
See reviews for
42
71
38
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
529 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 794 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was met at the airport as agreed and received a room on the Hyatt Gold floor (I am a member). The room is just your typical good size business hotel room. The bathroom, however, is larger and nicer than in many hotels, with black marble, a separate shower, a large soaking tub, and a very fluffy robe. There is a safe and an ironing board, a TV, an ipod docking station, and a mini bar (haven't looked yet).
The lobby, especially the outdoor part, is very scenic and seems like a great place to while away the afternoon (which I hope to do later this week). The spa is very nice (and super affordable - I just had a 90 min African massage, a 30 min scrub+spa tub soak, and bought a jar of product the massage therapist used - all for ZAR 1200 - which is just over EUR 100 I think; I only wish they had fresh fruit and hot tea) and so is the gym - again, larger than in many hotels and well equipped with modern machines.
There is a fantastic looking small outdoor pool which I haven't tried, a steam room, a sauna, and a hot tub.
Overall a great choice and I would not hesitate to recommend. Haven't tried their food, but breakfast selections, which I am looking at now for tomorrow, look good (and cheap!) with plentiful continental, egg, fruit, yogurt, cereal, meat, etc. options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Johannesburg was my last stop in South Africa and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for four nights with a safari in between. I really have to compliment the staff - everyone was terrific. I decided at the last minute to do a safari and the hotel was able to rejig my reservation allowing me to go to Pilanesberg for three days. The hotel is connected to what seemed like a couple of different malls which was convenient because the Hyatt in a residential neighbourhood. The rooftop pool was beautiful and the gym modern and well equipped. This is an excellent hotel to get work done, or for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeymaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

With these chain hotels, you always look for something different, something special. And there's always a temptation not to like them, to complain that they all look the same. Hyatt, in particular, at the top end does manage to create a certain look and feel. But unlike with some chains, the Hyatt does it so well: it does classy, tasteful and sumptuous.
The Johannesburg Hyatt has huge rooms (and I could see that mine was one of the smaller ones) with acres of carpet, acres of marble, huge TV, huge windows and a bed big enough to graze small horses. Or even medium-sized ones.
The bathrooms are spacious but not on the same scale, with a separate glass shower cabin, although the overall effect was reduced by a remarkably feeble shower head. The water trickled out. Normally in these kinds of hotels the water pressure blasts you into the opposite wall and you have to peel yourself off with a spatula, but this shower was like drizzle.
The public areas were grand, as to be expected, with incredible smiley, helpful, eager staff everywhere. There's a huge gym and a rooftop pool alongside a spa.
The hotel is by the Rosebank Mall, but more importantly it's just 30 seconds walk from the north exit of Rosebank Gautrain station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBrightBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a world class hotel. Unbelievable service. Staff was polite, eager to serve, and exceptionally friendly. food was delicious. Well worth the price. Pleasant outside patio for Alfresco dining. great location to shopping center and rail transport to and from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intlman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The Hyatt Regency Johannnesburg is currently one of my favourite hotels. It is very conveniently located between Sandton and Jo'burg, accessible by Gautrain. The rooms are spacious, modern and well maintained. The Executive Lounge offers a nice food and drinks selection. So do the restaurants in the hotel and the many options just outside.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank swiss_global_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The location of this hotel is a bit off, in the quiet Rosebank neighbourhood, but you can take that as a plus or minus. It's an pretty nice and spacious property right next to an upscale mall. It's a full featured Hyatt, with a pool and a Regency floor that serves some tasty local food and wine. The regency lounge staff were extremely hospitable as well. Overall a top notch Hyatt hotel with a focus on customer service. You can't go wrong here if you're visiting Joberg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing