We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Stayed at the Executive floor at the Park Hyatt and aside from the extra breakfast option, there was nothing special about it.

The room was quite large but basic. The restaurants and lobby were also just about average. Also don't expect any African restaurants here - there aren't any.

The only thing good about this place was that it was next to a shopping mall and there were plenty of eating options nearby. The grillhouse is definitely worth a visit. Avoid the restaurants in the hotel itself if you can.

Overall there's nothing that I'll miss about this hotel on my next trip to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ranger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    239
    87
    27
    23
See reviews for
62
90
44
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

I paid extra for the Executive Floor and got a beautiful room, as well as a concierge on the floor dedicated to the floor's guests. Breakfast and evening appetizers (sufficient for a light dinner) were also included with the Executive Floor. Food is excellent.
Staff were attentive and helpful throughout the hotel. The spa is wonderful.

Knocked off one star for two reasons:
1. Both in the spa and in the room, the shower heads did not work well; the water was of sufficient quantity but had no more pressure than that of gravity, and the spray dispersal was missing - it was like water falling out of a garden hose. The shower heads were too high for me to adjust.
2. The municipal water main to the hotel broke at one point, and no one could shower or flush the toilet for hours. Although this isn't the hotel's fault, a frequent guest told me this happens often, perhaps because of the train-station construction occurring across the street. The hotel was quick to respond, delivering bottled water to each room immediately.

Overall, I'd stay again but would not expect a perfect experience. Not sure how it would have been without the Executive Floor upgrade.

  • Liked — nice room and excellent service
  • Disliked — water and shower problems
Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Ikura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Having just returned from a two night stay at the Jo'berg Park Hyatt, I must concur in many of the views expressed on Trip Advisor. Although check-in was smooth, and the Front Desk honored my request for an early check-in (something they of course did not have to do), I only realized at check-out that they charged me a full night for the privilege. Had they disclosed that at check-in, I would have thought twice. Shame on you Park Hyatt.

And during the stay, I had a most unusual experience. The housekeeper threw away my Zip Lock bag used to house my carry-on liquids, something that all air travelers know is an aviation requirement. When I realized this the night before I left, I had to speak to three people before someone said they would help. And help they did! They sent two housekeepers to the dumpster to rummage through it and find my soiled plastic bag, and dutifully returned it to my room. Very odd. I sent the soiled bag to the front desk so that they could go out and purchase another plastic bag to house my toothpaste and contact lens solution.

From a room maintenance front, the air conditioner failed during my stay, but that was quickly and efficiently fixed. However, the shower leaked under the wall and onto the carpet. As far as I know, that problem remains. Once the mold sets in, I hope the problem is addressed.

And finally, in an apparently recurring theme, two mystery mini bar charges appeared on my bill (which they initially declined to show me as the room was being direct-billed to my travel agent -- I now understand why they did not want me to see it). To remove the 150 Rand charge (less than $20 USD), they wanted me to complete and sign a form attesting to my account.

In short, this place is overpriced and underperforms in virtually every relevant measure. I can't compare this hotel to other Jo'berg rooms, but in comparing it to comparable hotels in other countries, this one rates very low.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChocolateLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Taking into account the city etc. and having stayed there before I was looking forward to the return. Prior to leaving London I made some requests via e-mail, which were dealt with promptly and eficiently.

I was allocated a Queen Suite, which was very comfortbale. Room Service was always efficient, the room was kept tidy and the bathroom excellent. Choice on room service menu very limited and mini bar was not kept stocked during my stay.

Really liked the small but effiicient Gymn and the courtyard is always a nice place to sit and have a drink, and it is a good place to meet customers.

I used the car service at the hotel constantly during my stay and they were always courteous and punctual. It is one of the better places to stay in Johannesburg and I will certainly be staying there again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Upon arrival I was allocated a lovely room - only trouble was someone was already in there asleep in bed. Despite the fact that I'm single female & occupant was male, and thus this situation could have put me in danger (I was in his suite ready to unpack) no apology/upgrade was offered by hotel when we discovered room was occupied & notified front desk. In fact room I was later allocated was of lower quality despite my requests otherwise.

Do I need to comment on quality of bathroom - was probably pleasant on installation but it needs cleaning of mildew as you can see. Hardly appealing is it? Best part of hotel is gym.

Oh yes, the hotel also dispose of your toiletries/personal cleaning stuff too & despite 4 calls to front desk & management they cannot seem to resolve this for me. Even an acknowledgement call would have been appreciated, but they don't even have the courtesy to do that. Good service is an unknown to the staff here. I won't come back again.

  • Liked — Gym
  • Disliked — Service & lack of follow up to compaints
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank electroshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing