We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunnyside Park Hotel
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed March 1, 2007

The hotel was clean, service polite and rooms average. The grounds are wonderful. Major drawback is that you need to take a car to go anywhere outside the hotel property - there are not any restaurants or shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjabdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNeale, Deputy General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2009

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advosr Questionnaire Form.

The Sunnyside Park Hotel prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel.
It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”.

Since your feedback the hotel has upgraded the rooms and we now offer a complimentary shuttle to the local shopping centre. Please let me know when you are in Johannesburg again. I would love to show you around.


Thank you for choosing to make the Sunnyside Park Hotel your “Home away from Home”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 236 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2007

Great grounds and history of the site! The hotel itself shows it's age in the rooms which are adequate but in need of some upgrading. The staff and services were fine except for a slow checkout because of a rush of folks leaving the hotel after a conference.

I must say the value of the hotel was good for what we got. A simple coat of paint in the rooms would work wonders here.

Stayed: June 2006
Thank Meadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNeale, Deputy General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2009

My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire Form.

The Sunnyside Park Hotel prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”.

Since your stay we have upgraded all of our rooms and increased our front desk capacity to allow for more guest checking out. Please let me know if you come to Johannesburg again. I would love to show you around.

Thank you for choosing to make the Sunnyside Park Hotel your “Home away from Home”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We travelled to Johannesburg for a one night stopover in late July 2006 with 2 young children. We had arranged the airport transfer with the hotel and were warmly greeted and taken to Sunnyside. We found the hotel staff very friendly and knowledgable and the accommodation very comfortable (although I agree that the pillows could be better!!).

The gardens of the hotel are beautiful and the piano music in the lounge was lovely. Breakfast is fantastic (included in the price)!

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
414
Reviewed July 10, 2006

The rooms are a decent size and some have a balcony, which is nice. The pillows are terrible and the beds in general are not very comfortable. Nice sized bathrooms with good amenties. Fridge in every room. Front desk/concierge are really useless and easily overwhelmed. You can't rely on them for much of anything, and for people new to South Africa that can be frustrating. They will arrange cabs and such for you, but at very high, uncompetitive prices. We had breakfast with the room, which was always good. The bar is nice although the service there is also lacking. Nice lounge area with fireplace. It's a 2 1/2 star hotel by American standards that isn't really nearby much of anything - unless you have a car, you're totally dependent on cabs to get anywhere. The 'curio shop' is a joke.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNeale, Deputy General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2009

My Sincere Thanks to you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire form.

The Sunnyside Park Hotel prides itself on Service Excellence and Customer Care. With this in mind, I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism as this will help us improve on the High Standard we have set ourselves.

I would like to apologize to you for the problems you have encountered.

Guest feedback, like yours enables us to pin-point areas of concern and remedial actions will be put in place to rectify the problems you have encountered.

Since your stay Sunnyside, the hotel has undergone a major refurb, all linen, beds and furnishings have been replaced. Our Front Desk team has undergone rigourous training. We have sourced our own inhouse taxi operator, removed the curio shop and offered a complimentary shuttle to the nearest shopping complex as an alternative.

Thank you for choosing to make the Sunnyside Park Hotel your “Home away from Home”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

Several colleagues and I stayed at Sunnyside Park Hotel last year with each of us staying about 2 weeks, one after the other. The LOcation is very convenient, the grounds beautiful and the staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The rooms were a decent size and, especially the ones that overlooked the garden very pleasant. The breakfast was quite decent and the dining room staff helpful. All of us are again returning to Jo'burg this year for another seminar that we are presenting and we all wanted to return to Sunnyside Park. It is a pleasant change from the typical "plastic" hotel room that one experiences the world over.

  • Stayed: May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ashburyflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RucksackElch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnysidepark, Guest Relations Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANUELA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnysidepark, Guest Relations Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#48 of 67 in Johannesburg
25 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 67 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel QSL on 44
Hotel QSL on 44
#32 of 67 in Johannesburg
23 reviews
1.7 mi away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#16 of 67 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUN1 Berea
SUN1 Berea
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Address: Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $129 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel, has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a bygone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing