We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frayed around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Park Hotel to your Saves list
Sunnyside Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Johannesburg
Atlanta
Level Contributor
193 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Frayed around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel has old and new parts. I stayed in the new part. Room standard with firm bed, windows that open or heat/air although it shut itself off at times, flat screen tv with limited channels, coffee/tea, safe, odd cabinets, large enough closet with hangers and shelves, duvet or blanket Plastic edge of shower door falling off, some discoloration of grout, toilet in small space, sufficient counter space, separate tub and shower, laundry line, hair dryer.

Inconsistent service. All hotel personnel polite and tried to help when asked.
Some towels were frayed. Housekeeping uneven--sometimes received face cloth, sometimes not; once received shower cap; sometimes bath floor swept, sometimes not; twice entered room and serviced despite Do Not Disturb sign on door.

Front desk staff always on phone, but would eventually hang up to help in person guest. Sometimes bellman overwhelmed with daily bus tour group.

Lots of staff standing at attention at breakfast until on unspoken command they would collect their own breakfast and disappear into the kitchen leaving only 1 or 2 staff. Plenty of room except 7:30-8:30 weekdays.

I saw several irons/boards sitting outside doors for delivery/pick up.

Housekeeping and grounds maintenance (leaf blower) begin promptly and noisily at 8am each day.

Several machines not working in exercise room, but there was one treadmill, bicycle, crosstrainer, and step machine working as well as weights available. The controls for the ceiling fans are sort of hidden. TV turned on/off by standing on stool. Door does not close/lock.

Tour company staff friendly and helpful.

Small garden pleasant. Many benches covered with bird droppings. Can sit at outdoor restaurant.

Internet inconsistent and low bandwidth. Occasional short power interruption at night.

Same large selection at breakfast each day. I had a citrus salad in the dining room that was great and a beef burger in the pub that was inedible. Can dine/drink outdoors.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    35
    21
    8
See reviews for
14
15
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for one night to be close to Parktown at a reasonable rate. The hotel is old, but reasonably clean and safe. We asked reception to order us a taxi to Parktown North, which they promptly did and a gentleman arrived shortly after. About 5 minutes into the trip we realised that he was an unlicensed cab and his rate was exorbitant and he could not produce a receipt. Perhaps being locals (i.e. South Africans) we were too trusting and just assumed the Hotel would call a licensed and trusted cab service.

Room was adequate and had aircon. There is a shower in bath. I realised I had no hairdryer in my room early the next morning. After three requests I had to check out and left with damp hair. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank An3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Recently took my family for breakfast at The Sunnyside. Couldn’t believe it when I was charged R135 each for 2 children, aged 8 and 12 years. To add insult to injury, the service was pathetic, or more accurately, non-existing. I had to get up a number of times to find a waiter to ask for coffee, cutlery and side plates. Definitely not a place I will return to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I travel to South Africa frequently with work at Wits and because of its proximity, stay at the Sunnyside. It is an aging beauty and service can be spotty (forget wireless in your room and I've learned not to expect an iron!) but overall have found it to be reasonable. Jasonleg is right - the food is OK, wait staff can be indifferent and seating during peak breakfast hours can be dicey especially as a woman traveling alone. For a change I stayed at a Protea my last visit and will go back to Sunnyside next time if only because of proximity and the Protea was no better.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

i booked this hotel with advise from my distributor and the hotel was fine. security was first class and the room was good. the pub was opened 2 days after my stay started but shut earlier than the manager advised me.,when checking out check the bil as mine was incorrect. overall the stay was good and i would return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
241 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is located in Parktown which is not a great area to stay in if you are on vacation. I consult at an office just down the road so it is convenient.

The overall atmosphere is of a hotel with some former glory. Now it is faded and looks rather tired and tacky. Some rooms have been modernized like the one I stayed in but earlier this year stayed in one that was not.

Buffet dinner is overpriced but breakfast was basic and as long as you can find a seat-okay.

Staff are polite bordering on disinterested.

Stay again? Yes as there are no real other alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The reviewer who recently gave this venue a 5 must have been staying in a different room if not the different era that the hotel harks back to . . . My room was more like a long corridor positioned over the kitchen (smells) and adjacent to a large compressor system (noise). My window overlooked an extremely dank and dirty raised yard - so much for the advertised garden views . . WiFi was a joke and the business centre did not have a printer, so I was unable to print out the documents I required for an early morning meeting (staff tried the reception printer but the results were unusable). Missed breakfast due to the printer fiasco so can't comment on that . . .Yes the area is well positioned for business meetings - but there are choices . .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afrocentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Parktonian All-Suite
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#38 of 74 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#24 of 74 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 74 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Property: Sunnyside Park Hotel
Address: Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel, has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a bygone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing