We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
“wonderfull experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

my experience at Gold Reef City theme park and hotel was very exciting. the warm welcome from the staff at the gate to the hotel reception the people were friendly and they made us feel at home away from home, thank you so much

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kesetse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Kesetse L

I must apologise for the late response, a few technical issues have now been resolved.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    159
    42
    24
    23
See reviews for
294
102
5
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I was here for 2 days at the end of a business trip, and it could not have been more relaxing. Doing my reports in the garden of the resident's pool was wonderful. It's not a large pol, you can't swim lengths, but it is big enough to get wet in!

The hotel is a series of disconnected buildings scattered among the restaurants and tourist tat booths, all disguised as 19th century town. It is very well done, the necessary 21st century intrusions are discrete. Inside the rooms are modern and comfortable.

During the day the sound of people enjoying the rides is everywhere but after 18:00 the atmosphere changes completely, it is calm and relaxing.

The staff are very friendly and eager to help, although a fair few are inexperienced and fail to provide top-class service. That is a management issue.

At night meals are served at Barney's, and are of OK hotel standard. During the day I would suggest eating at M&B on 'town square' instead, the food is better and the staff very much better. Breakfast at Barney's is very good indeed.

What is obvious is that the place was built to a very high standard, but with less attention to maintenance since. I won't list the niggles, that would be unfair. I did talk to the duty manager, and she said that the hotel is no longer run by Protea but by some other chain, and that work was ongoing. If they want to be a world-class hotel they need to up their game on repairs and staff training.

Look, this is not the real world, or real South Africa. It's like being in an episode of 'the prisoner'. But accept it for what it is and it is a good laugh.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank brunnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Brunnian

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and to give us feedback with regards to your recent stay with us at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We have, however, noted the concerns that you have raised with regards to certain aspects of your stay - these issues have been highlighted with my team and will be addressed on an on-going basis.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon!.

Best Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Service was great as from our pick up by the shuttle driver at the entrance.Reception staff was very professional and friendly - we enjoyed welcome drinks and some snacks as well. Minute later we were in our rooms which were very clean, colourful and spacious. Breakfast - variety galore! The theme park and surroundings as well as the Fast foods inside were neat and the rides an experience of a lifetime - will strongly recommend families to visit - rides for all. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay. Will definately be back soon. Thumbs up for Gold Reef City!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Andre V

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had a wonderful time at the theme park hotel. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Made our five night stay comfortable. The rooms were kept clean and tidy. All linen were replaced daily. The breakfast spread at the hotel was lovely. Will recommend this place to families and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Asogan Soobramo... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Asogan Soobramo

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with regards to your recent stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. After a 5 night stay you are considered to be a friend of the Hotel and we always look forward to welcoming our friends back again!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A beautiful setting ruined by incompetence. If you stay here hope and pray nothing gies wrong because if it does, no matter the urgency, you will find yourself always waiting always asking and having to threaten before anything gets done and even then you will still have to wait!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Tracey

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. As per our conversation, I hope the way we have handled your concerns has met with your approval. We look forward to hearing from you with regards to arranging dates for your next visit where I will hopefully be able to meet with you.
Thank you for your continued support!

Kind Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at The Gold Reef city Theme park hotel on 21 December 2013, was a surprise gift for me from my husband. Was very impressed with all service, we got to the park at 8;30am, and we were allowed to check into our room, which was perfect, everything worked. The porters that drive you to collect your luggage, and take you over to casino, ALWAYS readily available. Breakfast at Barneys the following morning was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING.
Had an amazing time at the hotel and theme park, will definitely do it again, and will take friends with.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Got to hotel at 4pm went out for supper at 9 came into room at 11 pm floors where soaking wet toilet was still messed with stool on side from the time I got it I sorted it out I was offered another room at 11 pm I did not take it as kids where tired btw I had booked a room std king size being a president member i would have thought I would get an upgrade as I was told by the lady at hotel when I got there I had no option ,the aircon leaked the entire night this room needs a new sink new floors one could see that there was a leak problem in room I had told the duty manager I would like to be reimbursed for the inconvenience he told me he would ask wayne whom allowed a discounted rate from 1230 to 899 ,nevertheless I accepted but was not happy to lose my money it was a wasted night I should have just stayed at riverside hotel my previous experience at same hotel was a whole lot better seems change is needed ASAP


With regard to a gift normally any sun hotel gives I was shocked to learn that this resort doesn't give anything but chocolates riverside gave me a mug and chocolates

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yousuf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Yousuf M

I must first of all apologise for the delayed response - we have only recently re- gained access to the web due to technical issues.

Thank you for providing this feedback, and I apologise once again for the unfortunate maintenance issues and the resultant frustration and discomfort that was caused as a result.

With regards to the free upgrade entitlement due to your Frequent Guest status - this can only be offered if there is an upgraded room available, unfortunately, during school holidays the Hotel runs at high occupancies so upgrades are not always possible.

We regret that you had a frustrating stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back so that we can leave you with more pleasant memories after your next stay.

Best Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#21 of 66 in Johannesburg
402 reviews
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
7.8 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Property: Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing