We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were lucky enough to take up a special offer rate at this hotel and were so glad we did.

Although the hotel was full and although we had booked into a twin bed room, the staff were able to provide a room with a king-sized bed which made for a superb nights sleep.

The complimentary shuttle to their casino across the road was also appreciated.

Breakfast was superb and I was so pleased to be able to order poached eggs which were made the correct way and not in a plastic container like other hotels do.

Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. With breakfast and access to the park included in the tariff, this represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 532 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

We just enjoyed two very comfortable nights at the Gold Reef City Resort Hotel which forms part of the amusement park complex at Gold Reef City. We found the hotel rooms to be very comfortable and neat and the staff were corteous, friendly and professional. It was great being in the amusement before it opened and after it closed as this allowed us to be first in the queue at our favourite rides when the park opened. The park closes at 6:00pm and we enjoyed strolling through the empty park at night too.

I highly rate a stay at this hotel as it allows plenty time for kids to enjoy all the rides at the park while also offering comfort and excitement for adults too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceJacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed for one night on the 3rd December 2012 and had breakfast at 06:30 the morning of the 4th. What a disaster? Only about 50% of the food was ready (some were cold) at that time. When I asked one staff member where the eggs were, I was met with a strange look whilst she shouted out "CHEF, the Eggs!!". It took another 30 minutes before the eggs arived. At that time I was already finished and I left without having any eggs. Advice to hotel management: Either let the kitchen staff start at 06:00 to have proper breakfast prepared and ready at 06:30, OR tell your guest that breakfast is served at 07:00. This was probable my worst breakfast ever!! Regards Josh.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshBallem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Theme Park Hotel
Deluxe Room is big and stylish, proper baby cot and sleeper couch available for kids, 5min walk to theme park's Kiddies corner, next to restaurant: perfect for traveling with small kids.
Only service could be better: trying to make a reservation and checking in are a hassle. Housekeeping and shuttle staff are great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scarlett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My stay at Gold Reef over the last weekend was most enjoyable. The theme park setting is a great family get away destination and lots of fun for the entire family. The service provided at breakfast and divver was superb. I waill most certinlt recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: The south side rooms are definitely much quieter and very peaceful.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahendra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked for a night after our Kruger trip, before going to the airport the next day.

We thought we had booked the hotel at the Casino, but found out that, was across the road (a shuttle ride) and we were in the Amusement Park Hotel.
After the reception area (which awas a bit drab) we were walked down the street of the mock mining town to another building and our rooms.

We were very pleasantly suprised how nice and modern they were.
If you ordered breakfast in your room, it was served in the courtyard just outside your room which was very nice.

The food at the hotel restaurant (back down the street) was very good, not the cheapest but good.
After visiting the Casino in the evening, which we did not enjoy at all (scruffy, hot, no aircon) we decided to go back to the hotel restaurant to eat and drink, because we knew we would get good food and good service.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are stayimg with your family and want to enjoy the Theme Park on your door step.
We also found that after a manic Saturday with lots of people there, Sunday morning was very quiet with virtually no queue's for the rides (another advantage of staying in the complex.

1  Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We checked into the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel located inside the theme park towards the old town, and we were so impresseed by the standard of the rooms and cleanliness in the rooms. My mate and I shared a twin room, and my other two mates were across the hall in a twin room aswell, the rooms were spacious and had all the necessities we would need :) In the evening we walked down to reception across the road was the shuttle waiting to take us to the casino, it was so relaxing knowing we didnt have to drive back. An after dinner at the casino, at 23:30 the shuttle was there to pick us up an take us back to the hotel. Very Impressed with that! Breakfast was divine! freshh, and not to forget the fyummy waffles! after breakfast, straight to the theme park. Was an Amazing Experience.

Room Tip: We were located in the building across reception, so we didnt have to work far to get the shuttle or...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#28 of 66 in Johannesburg
411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#42 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
8.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $124 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing