We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK ish....................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked for a night after our Kruger trip, before going to the airport the next day.

We thought we had booked the hotel at the Casino, but found out that, was across the road (a shuttle ride) and we were in the Amusement Park Hotel.
After the reception area (which awas a bit drab) we were walked down the street of the mock mining town to another building and our rooms.

We were very pleasantly suprised how nice and modern they were.
If you ordered breakfast in your room, it was served in the courtyard just outside your room which was very nice.

The food at the hotel restaurant (back down the street) was very good, not the cheapest but good.
After visiting the Casino in the evening, which we did not enjoy at all (scruffy, hot, no aircon) we decided to go back to the hotel restaurant to eat and drink, because we knew we would get good food and good service.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are stayimg with your family and want to enjoy the Theme Park on your door step.
We also found that after a manic Saturday with lots of people there, Sunday morning was very quiet with virtually no queue's for the rides (another advantage of staying in the complex.

1  Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 532 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We checked into the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel located inside the theme park towards the old town, and we were so impresseed by the standard of the rooms and cleanliness in the rooms. My mate and I shared a twin room, and my other two mates were across the hall in a twin room aswell, the rooms were spacious and had all the necessities we would need :) In the evening we walked down to reception across the road was the shuttle waiting to take us to the casino, it was so relaxing knowing we didnt have to drive back. An after dinner at the casino, at 23:30 the shuttle was there to pick us up an take us back to the hotel. Very Impressed with that! Breakfast was divine! freshh, and not to forget the fyummy waffles! after breakfast, straight to the theme park. Was an Amazing Experience.

Room Tip: We were located in the building across reception, so we didnt have to work far to get the shuttle or...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Gold reef city is a great family experience. But undoubtably the best surprise was the awesome casino hotel. It is suitably soundproofed from the casino floor, and the rooms are spacious.

Thank ABoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in a family room for a weekend. Nice hotel - good buffet breakfast. Room was spacious, but not the cleanest. Other than that, all in all a nice hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

There are 2 hotels, one above the casino and the other is inside the theme park. I stayed at the theme park hotel for 3 weeks. Living inside the theme park was a cool thing, always a festive mood. It was just a bit awkward for me then being alone, walking around the theme park on weekends or holidays. But definitely for family trips, this is a good place. The stay at thehotel includes theme park entrance (and rides). My room was spacious and felt really comfortable during my stay. The staff are friendly and the manager is very accommodating. There's a lot restaurants to choose from. The only problem I had then was the key card, kept going back to the reception located in the other building to make it function... And it was winter then....and another thing, the screams in the theme park might wake you on weekend mornings. : )

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
Thank kastr1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed here in an executive room for four nights during a conference which was held on site. The room was spacious and wonderfully decorated with all of the facilities you would expect. The place itself is the site of an original gold mine which has been restored or re-created to give an historic atmosphere. The room was quiet but during the day there was some noise from the theme park rides which are nearby. It is an ideal location for a conference or meeting since there are facilities on site. It would be good for families too since the kids could roam around in safety. It is a 10 minute drive to downtown Johannesburg but there are things to do within the walls of the Gold Reef complex including the theme park, a casino, and the nearby must-see Apartheid Museum. There is security control on all the entrance gates to the theme park/hotel area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ece411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Chose this hotel above the casino hotel,what a disappointment.At check in, my wife was told that there is no toilette at reception and she had to use one in the park.Asked for a iron and board only to receive a dirty iron which was replaced with a broken one.The dust bin still filled with litter from the previous guest.The phone in our room was broken,had to use my cellphone to make contact with reception.Was only fixed after complaining about it the second time.The room door had a huge gap between the floor and the door it self visible from the inside.Didn't get much sleep due to a baby crying through the night.The front desk staff not very help full and informative,they can learn a lot from the friendly and helpful porters.In general,the highlight of our over night stay was the Theme Park and the breakfast buffet.Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJansen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#28 of 66 in Johannesburg
412 reviews
2.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#42 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
8.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $124 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing