We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashy but sound atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We spent 3 nights in this hotel, which was the start of our tour through South Africa. Arriving at about midnight after a delayed arrival of our flight we were quite amazed about the atmosphere of the bustling casino hall which could be watched from the balustrade connecting the hotel lifts and the rooms. Fortunately, once we were in our family suite (with stylish decor), there was no sound or other disturbance from the casino.
The front desk staff of the hotel is very helpful in organising the stay.
The hotel is opposite the Gold Reef City Theme Park, which seems to be interesting but is barely operative during rainy days (bad luck for us); the historic gold mine is definitely worth visiting.
While the hotel is not very close to central Johannesburg it appears to be a very safe option for staying in the Johannesburg area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AHmNrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed here for two nights in April during our tour and were very pleased.
Checking in was easy and do not be alarmed at the noise from the casino as we were because once you are in your room you cannot hear anything at all.
The room was clean ,and had everything that you would need and a great turn down service with chocolates every night.
I won in the casino and we visted the theme park that is amazing value compared to the UK at £ 8.00 Per day and with 50% off for staying in the hotel it came down to £ 4.00 , compare that to Alton Towers !!
The Back O the Moon restaurant was the best we found in the whole of South Africa with a service, food and entertainment that was excellent , so much so that we ate there both nights but also were you have breakfast served a very good meal.

I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank RodrigoMarinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank Luigi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: NIle Suite , einfach der Hammer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
8.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
10.1 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
192 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel

Address: Cnr. Nothern Parkway & Data Crescent | Ormonde, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $138 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Gold Reef City's imposing lobby, stepped in the grandeur of a bygone era, transports you back to a time when service and hospitality were paramount and elegance was the order of the day. Each luxuriously appointed room combines style and elegance with all the state of the art mod cons to please even the most fastidious guest. Whether travelling on business or for a leisurely break, the hotel and entertainment complex offers a wide variety of entertainment including several restaurants, casino, the adjacaent Gold Reef Citry Theme Park and Apartheid Museum and two theatres ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Reef City Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing