We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$289
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$169
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$172
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$196
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$84
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$243
$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$117
$83
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
111
66
13
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
66
13
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstheme parkcasino hotelthe main hotelshuttle service was excellentfun weekendsuite roomhotel guestsawesome stayhotel stayentertainment arearoom serviceother hotelsbusiness staytv channelslong stayenjoyed my stayapartheid museum
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 202 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms with character and excellent bed. Pampering service with small chocolate for goodnight. Good food, but mediocre breakfast - it's the only aspect of the hotel that needs improvement. Good selection of places to eat/drink in the casino complex.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Auteur

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback regarding your recent stay at Southern Sun Gold Reef City. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your concern regarding the breakfast offering and will be addressing this over the next few weeks.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights with my family in suite room located on the 2nd floor. The hotel is old but well maintain located in a casino and a excellent theme park safe and secure environment and a gold mine.located in the theme park me and my family enjoyed the stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehandhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Rehandhund

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback with regards to your recent stay at Southern Sun Gold Reef City. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The friendliness and efficiency of the staff gives you an immediate feeling of welcome and comfort. Despite being near airport it feels as if it is far away.room is very comfortable with excellent amenities. The staff go out f their way to accommodate your every need.

Room Tip: It seems that all the rooms are all of a high quality
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine747771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

1. This is supposed to be a 4 Star hotel yet the facilities and breakfast were of a very poor standard:
2. The Pavilion café breakfast on the 17 July consisted of stale Cornflakes dispensed from a 10% full plastic tube.
3. The person cooking the eggs was not able to provide or cook a poached egg!
4. When the fried egg arrived it was badly cooked, damaged & was presented on a small side plate.
5. The bacon was old, cold and grey in colour.
6. The coffee was excessively strong an cold.
7. I had to wait ages for a waiter to notice my existence to be served with coffee, yet the place is full of staff wandering around and only 2 guests in the cafe.
8. The satellite TV in the room had only a limited selection of channels and far below the full DSTV bouquet expected from a 4 Star hotel.
9. The cost of R1791.40 for 1 night B&B is an exorbitant price to pay for such low quality.
10. You feel like a criminal in this establishment when they ask you at check in for copy of your ID and R500 deposit extra for additional charges?
11. My complaints at checking out on 17 July was met with total disinterest by the receptionist and no apology.
12. In summary, I am astounded that you can charge customers such a high tariff for such low quality facilities, food, service & staff attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Gold Reef Hotel in February and I really loved every bit of my stay. I loved their cozy rooms and their awesome restaurants. I really loved their food and internet connection speed. I was there for almost a month and never felt home sick because their staff were always so friendly.
I will definitely stay there again any day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews