We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and the BEAST!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely staff and fantastic service... Extremely relaxing and amazing stay experience.. There is so much to do within the hotel that didnt need to visit outside.. The clubs, pubs, casinos, spas, shopping, and lots and lots of adventure.. The jungle safari.. All of it to its best!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kohinoor_doshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, General Manager at Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Ben N

Let me first of all apologise for the delayed response, we have only recently re-gained access to the response page ( a few technical issues). We have noted your concerns with regards to the noise levels you experienced in your room as well as the style of the furnishings. These are all issues that we will certainly attempt to resolve in the near future. Thank you for your feedback in this regard.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms with character and excellent bed. Pampering service with small chocolate for goodnight. Good food, but mediocre breakfast - it's the only aspect of the hotel that needs improvement. Good selection of places to eat/drink in the casino complex.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Auteur

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback regarding your recent stay at Southern Sun Gold Reef City. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your concern regarding the breakfast offering and will be addressing this over the next few weeks.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights with my family in suite room located on the 2nd floor. The hotel is old but well maintain located in a casino and a excellent theme park safe and secure environment and a gold mine.located in the theme park me and my family enjoyed the stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehandhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Rehandhund

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback with regards to your recent stay at Southern Sun Gold Reef City. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The friendliness and efficiency of the staff gives you an immediate feeling of welcome and comfort. Despite being near airport it feels as if it is far away.room is very comfortable with excellent amenities. The staff go out f their way to accommodate your every need.

Room Tip: It seems that all the rooms are all of a high quality
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine747771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

1. This is supposed to be a 4 Star hotel yet the facilities and breakfast were of a very poor standard:
2. The Pavilion café breakfast on the 17 July consisted of stale Cornflakes dispensed from a 10% full plastic tube.
3. The person cooking the eggs was not able to provide or cook a poached egg!
4. When the fried egg arrived it was badly cooked, damaged & was presented on a small side plate.
5. The bacon was old, cold and grey in colour.
6. The coffee was excessively strong an cold.
7. I had to wait ages for a waiter to notice my existence to be served with coffee, yet the place is full of staff wandering around and only 2 guests in the cafe.
8. The satellite TV in the room had only a limited selection of channels and far below the full DSTV bouquet expected from a 4 Star hotel.
9. The cost of R1791.40 for 1 night B&B is an exorbitant price to pay for such low quality.
10. You feel like a criminal in this establishment when they ask you at check in for copy of your ID and R500 deposit extra for additional charges?
11. My complaints at checking out on 17 July was met with total disinterest by the receptionist and no apology.
12. In summary, I am astounded that you can charge customers such a high tariff for such low quality facilities, food, service & staff attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Gold Reef Hotel in February and I really loved every bit of my stay. I loved their cozy rooms and their awesome restaurants. I really loved their food and internet connection speed. I was there for almost a month and never felt home sick because their staff were always so friendly.
I will definitely stay there again any day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Loved the various restaurants in the complex. Food was out of this world! Entertainment for the whole family. A MUST to do when visiting Johannesburg!! Casino, several restaurants and a beautiful entertainment park for the kiddies with rides, 4D shows.. a mini Disney World!

Room Tip: I couldn't find fault with anything in this hotel. A perfect location for the whole family or ju...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarindaHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.0 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
412 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.8 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#42 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
8.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
8.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel

Address: Cnr. Nothern Parkway & Data Crescent | Ormonde, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $126 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Gold Reef City's imposing lobby, stepped in the grandeur of a bygone era, transports you back to a time when service and hospitality were paramount and elegance was the order of the day. Each luxuriously appointed room combines style and elegance with all the state of the art mod cons to please even the most fastidious guest. Whether travelling on business or for a leisurely break, the hotel and entertainment complex offers a wide variety of entertainment including several restaurants, casino, the adjacaent Gold Reef Citry Theme Park and Apartheid Museum and two theatres ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Reef City Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing