We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing and fantastic service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms with character and excellent bed. Pampering service with small chocolate for goodnight. Good food, but mediocre breakfast - it's the only aspect of the hotel that needs improvement. Good selection of places to eat/drink in the casino complex.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Auteur

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback regarding your recent stay at Southern Sun Gold Reef City. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your concern regarding the breakfast offering and will be addressing this over the next few weeks.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    48
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
39
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights with my family in suite room located on the 2nd floor. The hotel is old but well maintain located in a casino and a excellent theme park safe and secure environment and a gold mine.located in the theme park me and my family enjoyed the stay .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehandhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Rehandhund

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback with regards to your recent stay at Southern Sun Gold Reef City. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The friendliness and efficiency of the staff gives you an immediate feeling of welcome and comfort. Despite being near airport it feels as if it is far away.room is very comfortable with excellent amenities. The staff go out f their way to accommodate your every need.

Room Tip: It seems that all the rooms are all of a high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine747771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

1. This is supposed to be a 4 Star hotel yet the facilities and breakfast were of a very poor standard:
2. The Pavilion café breakfast on the 17 July consisted of stale Cornflakes dispensed from a 10% full plastic tube.
3. The person cooking the eggs was not able to provide or cook a poached egg!
4. When the fried egg arrived it was badly cooked, damaged & was presented on a small side plate.
5. The bacon was old, cold and grey in colour.
6. The coffee was excessively strong an cold.
7. I had to wait ages for a waiter to notice my existence to be served with coffee, yet the place is full of staff wandering around and only 2 guests in the cafe.
8. The satellite TV in the room had only a limited selection of channels and far below the full DSTV bouquet expected from a 4 Star hotel.
9. The cost of R1791.40 for 1 night B&B is an exorbitant price to pay for such low quality.
10. You feel like a criminal in this establishment when they ask you at check in for copy of your ID and R500 deposit extra for additional charges?
11. My complaints at checking out on 17 July was met with total disinterest by the receptionist and no apology.
12. In summary, I am astounded that you can charge customers such a high tariff for such low quality facilities, food, service & staff attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Gold Reef Hotel in February and I really loved every bit of my stay. I loved their cozy rooms and their awesome restaurants. I really loved their food and internet connection speed. I was there for almost a month and never felt home sick because their staff were always so friendly.
I will definitely stay there again any day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiti
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Loved the various restaurants in the complex. Food was out of this world! Entertainment for the whole family. A MUST to do when visiting Johannesburg!! Casino, several restaurants and a beautiful entertainment park for the kiddies with rides, 4D shows.. a mini Disney World!

Room Tip: I couldn't find fault with anything in this hotel. A perfect location for the whole family or ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarindaHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at this hotel. The room, service and food were all divine and made for an excellent weekend away. The suites are particularly gorgeous, offering wonderful views of the city and a very spacious lounge (not to mention two lovely en-suite bathrooms with a heavenly porcelain bathtub!). I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The Executive Suites are wonderful and very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.0 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#22 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
8.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#42 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
2.8 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
8.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel

Property: Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel
Address: Cnr. Nothern Parkway & Data Crescent | Ormonde, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Gold Reef City's imposing lobby, stepped in the grandeur of a bygone era, transports you back to a time when service and hospitality were paramount and elegance was the order of the day. Each luxuriously appointed room combines style and elegance with all the state of the art mod cons to please even the most fastidious guest. Whether travelling on business or for a leisurely break, the hotel and entertainment complex offers a wide variety of entertainment including several restaurants, casino, the adjacaent Gold Reef Citry Theme Park and Apartheid Museum and two theatres ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Reef City Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing