We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed April 18, 2013

While this hotel ticks all the boxes that one would expect from a traveller, you are left with the impression hat it does nothing more and that it is really a bit tired and in need of a refit.

The hotel is well located with easy access to freeways and OR Thambo airport. The room is spacious comprising a lounge and bedroom but other wise spartan and not really comfortable. Quite frankly, I would rather have less space and a bit more comfort. The patio overlooking Bruma Lake and its bird life is a nice feature. The room and furnishings are pretty much at the end of their life and the linen somewhat threadbare. Maintenance is lacking although not absent. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water.

The one exception is the breakfast which was really good and the dining room small but well appointed.

I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your considered review of our hotel - we will certainly take into account the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were very well recieved by the all the staff. They were great and a wealth of information. The area is beautiful and seems quite safe. We didn't have even a hint of problems or ever feel uncomfortable. The people in the neighbourhood are very friendly and watch out for you. There is also lots of security both at the hotel and in most of the businesses and parking lots in the area. The lake is nice to look at but you have to keep in mind it is in the middle of a very large city so there is some garbage that has been washed down from the surrounding neighbourhoods. It is full of ducks and other birds and is very pleasant to look at from the balcony.

The suites are large, very clean and comfortable. We didn't make it for breakfast any of the mornings so cannot comment on the food, but the restaurant/lounge is quite comfortable.

The staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need and will always point you in the right direction. You can order food from some take-out places in the area or just go out to one of the many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your generous comments about our hotel and its location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - at this hotel or at another hotel in our group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was used as a stopover from the US onway to safari in Botswana. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from Tambo airport.
Negatives: Surly, uninviting welcome; bar area was uninviting. The room was quite awful. We weren't prepared for how dirty the room was, let alone the bugs - many of them. Room smelled of mildew. Needs some serious updating. weren't looking for much - just something clean to crash for the night - this was well below minimum
Positives: Used hotel shuttle for 10 minute drive to a mall where you had a half dozen nice restaurants (incl. a Smith & Wollensky!). driver was excellent. Breakfast and morning staff were absolutely top of the line.
Sum: find another place. while breakfast and morning staff were nice, the room was very poor and that's the only reason to be here

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your overall stay, but glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We will be looking into the points you have raised to see what can be done to provide an improved service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

;I really like this hotel. It was like living in an apartment complex, with lovely grounds, facing a lake. The rooms have a kitchenette with table and chairs,and are supplied with coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, as well as biscuits every night. It is clean and comfortable, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were very good. Apples and little brown bags of biscuits were put out for taking each day--a nice touch. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out, and you might have to walk down or up one story to get to your room. Be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorettam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are quite big with all amenities and nice view to the lake. Italian Renaissance style appartments rather that hotel, in a very safe area near one of the biggest malls in the city with all kind of stores and restaurants,
Some updating needed with furniture, carpet and bathroom fictures.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StavrosVar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

In a relatively safe area of the city, though we were warned to take a taxi to the large mall only a ten-minute walk away, with the warning "It's safe INSIDE the mall." The lake visible from all rooms is home to lots of birds. Buffet was good in the evening--we ate lunch elsewhere, so no comment on that. Drinks and snacks free during happy hour, though the bar staff seemed to be in a perpetual state of confusion. Rooms were excellent.

Room Tip: All seemed to be good, though you might want to choose a downstairs one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Royan17200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very comfortable rooms with a basic kitchen, just a sink, microwave and dishwasher, so not for the ambitious cook. It is cool walking along the raised paths to the rooms, its more like being in an apartment block and not like a hotel. The pool is really nice and it is lovely to lay in the sun and relax by the pool. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Eastgate
Garden Court Eastgate
#22 of 66 in Johannesburg
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St Andrews Hotel & Spa
St Andrews Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bedfordview
97 reviews
5.4 mi away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#15 of 66 in Johannesburg
381 reviews
6.2 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $80 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Bruma Flea Market, local craft displays and Eastgate Shopping Centre. Easily accessible to major motorways and only 10 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing