We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Courtyard Rosebank turned out to be a great place for our four-night stay in Johannesburg.

The hotel is directly next to/across from the Rosebank Gautrain station and the Rosebank mall complex. If you don't know Joburg, that means you can take the efficient, clean, safe Gautrain from the airport to the Sandton station, switch lines with absolutely no worry, & go one stop to Rosebank. When you come up from the train, the two-story hotel complex is within sight--again, no stress. Gautrain can also take you to the Hop On-Hop Off bus pickup point at the Park station.

The malls across the street include numerous restaurants, a movie theater, a grocery story & more. (The grocery closes at 6pm, as do many of the other mall stores, but restaurants remain open later.) Much of the mall is open-air, which is pleasant--you don't feel as if you are sealed off from the world. It's not as upscale as the malls at expensive Sandton, which to me was a very good thing.

The hotel itself is clean, with friendly staff & nice rooms. There are studio, one-bedroom, & two-bedroom rooms. All have kitchenette facilities with dining tables. We stayed in the reasonably priced one-bedroom suite, which meant we had a nice little apartment, comfortable for just hanging out. The pool was also a calm place to relax. This is not a luxury property; it's just a surprisingly good mid-market place to stay.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, although it serves breakfast. Several restaurants across the street will deliver--but we found it much nicer to cross the street ourselves for dinner.

You get 15 minutes free wi-fi a day, but otherwise there is a charge for Internet access via the AlwaysOn system. It's pricey at 50 rand per hour, but AlwaysOn seems to be everywhere in South Africa.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OtraGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for your review - we're glad you found our hotel convenient and comfortable - that's exactly what we want to be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We needed a place close to Rosebank, and the Mall, at fairly short notice.After the madness of traffic congestion and Police Traffic Blocks, jamming roads over a busy weekend, what a treat to find. a 'mini home from home' on a busy Johannesburg weekday,
Efficiency, from the bookings, to the check out were unobtrusive, efficient and friendly!!
Quality room, and service with relaxing drinks by the pool after the traffic madness, made this a 'gem' in the midst of a minefield!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thanks so much for your generous review - we are very glad you enjoyed our "oasis".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We loved this hotel. Great location, great service and very comfortable space. Travelling with a child meant having a lounge/dining area (with kitchenette) and separate bedroom was a bonus. Excellent value for money. The staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. You also get lots of complimentary extras - coffee and tea and muffins in the lobby each morning if you don't want the lovely breakfast. Complimentary cocktails at night - non-alcoholic too. I am an ex-Joburger so I know the city well - this is hands down the best position place to stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor - there are only 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovingbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thanks for your kind review - nice to have you back in Joburg again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very nice and clean .
Staff is great .
Very near to the airport and sandton area.
Easy access to malls and cenimas.
Food is good . Breakfast is all you need you can find .
Easy booking without any credit information .Very trusty staff .
Taxis are available if you dont trust outsiders .
Every taxi is registered .
Complementary intetnet for 15 min daily .
Enough for checking ur emails.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnasMadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Courtyard hotel Rosebank is in a very good neighbourhood. Good food. Great staff. Directly opposite a big shopping mall, maning you can have access to a wide variety of restaurants and shops just across the street. It was clean and I slept well. I like the happy hour in the evenings too.

What more can I say, it was a lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solomon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Right accross from the Gautrain station. Shopping all around and restaurants galore. Big rooms, pool, microwave, utensils, sink,plates and bowls, glasses etc. Open bar from 5-7pm (free), welcoming sherry and very helpfully staff. Loved it

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel - we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Rosebank is full of high-end hotels, and so this reasonably-priced 4* Courtyard (part of the City Lodge group) is a real find. Located opposite the Mall of Rosebank and the Zone, and next to the Gautrain station, this suite hotel is well equipped and very comfortable. I stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment, with small kitchenette and TV lounge, which would be more than adequate for a family of four. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thanks for your comments about our hotel - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.3 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
194 reviews
3.2 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
189 reviews
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Address: Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#32 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $100 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in prestigious Rosebank on Oxford Road, opposite the Gautrain Rapid Rail station. Major shopping centres, craft markets, restaurants and cinemas are all within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible to all motorways linking the key business centres in Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing