We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered in style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
KemptonPark
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pampered in style”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

They went out of their way to make our stay special. Birthday cake in bed. The best part of the Hotel is the restaurant. With private booths, individually themed, the atmosphere is set for a five star meal. This is one of the Hotels i enjoy coming back to. Not the run of the mill, but a place where you can forget the world and let go...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Airvertise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Airvertise,

This is an overwhelming message left for us on Tripadvisor, and what an amazing pleasure it is to say thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Your comment encompasses the passion that this Hotel has for its spectacular GUESTS and we are delighted that you enjoyed our energy.

We do hope you will be with us soon again to enjoy the splendour even further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    214
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
88
207
44
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Melrose Arch many times and it has remained consistent over the years.
The rooms are funky (rubber duckies in the bathtubs!) and the safe is hidden from view in a particularly fun clever way. The TV's need updating but other than that it is a consistently good hotel with good staff and the ovation is great. In Melrose Arch which has a good selection of restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScatherbrainP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear ScatherbrainP
It must be the most rewarding feeling in the world as a General Manager of such a prime property to receive accolades to the likes of your post! I am so pleased that the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel still offer you the charm and amazing service that is expected of us! Thank you for your words of praise! It is highly appreciated!
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

When staying in this area in Johannesburg, you may well read that the Melrose Arch hotel is the best in the area. What you read is possibly right. I have stayed at this hotel several times, and have given them positive reviews, but things have changed.

The first issue is one that has plagued the hotel for some time: there is no fitness center. Yes, you can visit the luxurious Virgin Active Classic, but it's costly. And this hotel's sibling does have a fitness center. Surely, one thinks, they could have come to an arrangement. The second issue is that of the restaurant. When we stayed here about a year ago, I observed the service and cuisine in the restaurant were of a particularly high standard. Service remains good, but the food quality is not what it used to be.

There was also the fascinating issue where we had to beg the bartender to serve us drinks at the bar, despite it being just before closing time. His excuse was that he had cashed up for the evening, as he thought nobody would be down there. Five star? I think not.

Melrose Arch remains a lovely destination if you are planning to stay local - the shopping and restaurants within walking distance are really good. However, the premium you part with for this hotel are no longer attractive when one considers the other options nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the pool can be nice, unless you have a pool party in the afternoon. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It is extremely saddening to hear that your experience at our Hotel has not been up to the standard that it used to be. My sincere apologies that we failed your expectations in these aspects.
The fact that you could not get beverage served is absolutely unacceptable and I am completely in agreement that this is not a Five Star level, Please be assured that this was addressed and most definitely resolved!
I have taken the fitness centre issue as a personal challenge and will do everything in my power to have a better solution prior to your next visit to our Hotel.
Please be kind enough to pop me a mail on gm@melrosearchhotel.com, to check the progress prior to your next stay. I would be absolutely delighted to be in a position to offer you a fantastic next visit with a much improved fitness offering and the delectable meals that became a trademark of our amazing establishment.

Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

this is just a beautiful 5 star hotel, with a modern twist and and old world charm and ambiance!
the rooms are delightful up till the playtfull yellow duck in the bathroom! the dinner and restaurant was brilliant! the cigar room and the stoep is vibrant and stylish at the same time. the swimming pool area is posh to say the least!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Heila

Thank you for the amazing feedback on your stay at the Hotel. We appreciate your patronage and wish you many more visits to come!

Regards

Tania & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed in this hotel last year, nice hotel. Other plus point of this hotel is its in comperatively safe area. Rooms are OK not that great as seen in the pictures or price you have to pay. I feel its bit too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skhanna441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Skhanna441,

Thank you for taking the time to review the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel.

Please be advised that the Hotel does offer various accommodation package options that is relevant to the occupancy of the day, the day of the week as well as when it is booked and is geared to accommodate our travellers budgets.

To plan your trip, do not hesitate to contact me personally on gm@melrosearchhotel.com to tailormake your next visit to our establishement.

I trust we will hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a decent part of town with some nice other shops and restaurants etc adjacent to it. The rooms are pretty compact but the shower was good and the bed firm.

The breakfast menu has some interesting choices on it, eg oysters, devilled chicken livers and ostrich bacon (not on the same plate, unless you so desired.....).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Lordmair,

I would love to take this opportunity to thank you for your terrific feedback on your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel.

In a few choice words, you have highlighted some of the key elements that make The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel the amazing property that it is.

Our breakfast offering leaves our GUEST’s spoilt for choice and I am delighted to hear that you received a chance to indulge in so many ways.

Should you afford us the chance to host you again, could I recommend that you try our executive rooms which are more spacious than our standard room offerings.

We sincerely hope that you allow us the privilege of hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

African pride protea hotel Melrose Arch, what a wow 2 night stay, clean, friendly, helpful, good food amazing breakfast. The rooms are spacious and a pleasure to spend time in. I can't wait to go back. Turkish delight in the reception is too die for. Thanks for a great relaxed time. YvetteB

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvetteBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear YvetterB,

Thank you very much for taking the time so share such a wonderful account of your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel.

The TEAM and I are delighted to hear that we could put the “WOW” factor into your 2 night stay; this is the very reason we wake up in the morning! :-)

We are blessed to have Hanroe Erasmus as our March Restaurant’s Executive Chef and under his leadership; our breakfast has been repeatedly voted “The best in Johannesburg.”

I am ecstatic to hear that you so enjoyed it and particularly the (home-made) Turkish Delight!

Thank you once again for sharing this beautiful feedback, we look so forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
393 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing