We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I loved this hotel, it's rooms, it's location, and it's quality. Everything was perfect. We stayed in the executive suite and all our needs were catered for. It's located right at the Melrose Square and had tons of restaurants right outside.
I will stay here again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor facing the square, it tends to get loud outside at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suhaa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Suhaa S

The TEAM are delighted to have converted you to a hotel enthusiast! We are also delighted to hear that everything was perfect, your needs were taken care of and that you enjoyed the ambience and atmosphere that the Melrose Arch precinct offers!

Overall amazing feedback! We are proud to have you as our GUEST!

Kind regards

Tania Malan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 714 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Escaped for 1 night away of romance and we could not have chosen a better place!! Decor is pristine and brilliantly placed. Breakfast is the most Amazing Delight anyone could wish for. Staff were Great and we loved our time at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. Will recommend it everyone....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphin281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Dolphin281

I was absolutely thrilled to have read your wonderful feedback about our stunning property and the fact that we were able to perfect your romantic getaway in every way possible.

On behalf of all the STAFF at this pristine property we thank you! It is absolutely amazing to get such feedback and we are standing proud that you "loved" your time at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel!

Hope we will be able to host you here again soon!

Tania Malan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel was very clean and hospitable. The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Just one gripe: the free internet advertised was limited to 500 MB per day, and top-up was very expensive (USD15 per 500 MB. If you need internet for your work as a business traveller, the cost adds up as it did for me. No luxury hotel should charge for internet these days but unfortunately this is common in RSA.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Samuel B Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Samuel BZ

Thank you very much for your words of encouragement about the service and level of standards at the African Pride Melrose Arch! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!

Your comments regarding the Interent service and costs will most definitely be taken up with our service provider and we will together with them see if there are ways to improve on the product delivery!

We trust it will not be too long before your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for four nights on business

The best way to describe this hotel is that it tries to be W Hotel
You have the trendy music playing in the background
Interesting design- which works much better in the public areas- bar- reception- restaurant- than in the rooms
Nice touches- rubber duckies in the bath, daily complimentary M&Ms for turn down service, fresh oysters for breakfast!

Furthermore this is in Melrose Arch. Which is one of the nicest gated communities areas in Johannesburg- where you can walk the streets in nice but artificial cobble stone streets.
As my office is closeby this was super convenient.
Lots of eating choices nearby.

Then why 3 stars?

This hotel did not work for me for several reasons:
1. Garish red lights in the room
2. Garish green lights inside the shower
3. Safe hidden behind a picture- which is cute but not when you just landed after 12 hour flight and the last thing you want to do is play hide and seek inside your own room
4. Inflexible attitude of staff- Not CUSTOMER ORIENTED: It was raining and the staff refused to lend umbrellas- so I got wet two nights in a row. Thank you Melrose Arch! Offering to walk with you is not a convenient option. Thanks but no thanks.
5. MORE BAD SERVICE I arrived 6:30 AM for breakfast in the beautiful breakfast area which was deserted and lady manning the entry gave me attitude for sitting in a four seater table as opposed to two seater. I had to ask her if she was asking me to move. She eventually backed down but this ruined the morning for me. (there was plenty of empty tables all around). Shame really as the short male employee was really friendly and gave good service even teaching me Zulu phrases when he noticed I was writing some notes for my morning meeting.

All in, I checked out a day earlier than planned and moved to a different hotel.
Next time I will try a different hotel.

Hardware is good- san lighting and too deliberate cool attempts. So come here if cool different is important.
If you value service- this hotel the Software/service can be greatly improved

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koreaninsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Koreaninsingapore

I cannot thank you enough for the amazing letter and feedback to the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel through Tripadvisor! The reason for the Thank You is that I have just taken over as General Manager of this amazing property and your feedback is exactly what I need to assess the problem and concern areas as well as the positive attractions and points to focus on for future marketing within our Hotel.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the fact that the STAFF did not meet your expectations in that you had no protection from the rain and for the fact that the March Restaurant hostess displayed obvious lack of professionalism in dealing with your seating choice. Please be assured that this operation driven approach has been addressed with my Heads of Departments. Alternatives should be made readily available and offered to our GUESTS in such a manner that it is seen as a service and not a duty.

It saddens to hear that you will not return to this amazing property. It would be highly appreciated if you would reconsider another stay with us in order to not only notice the improvement on service, but also supply us with feedback that will assist the Hotel to continuously be the best destination in Johannesburg and thereby create an absolute awesome experience to our GUESTS.

Please feel free to contact me on my email if I can be of any further assistance in future! My email address is gm@melrosearchhotel.com

Kind regards

Tania Malan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I ended a 2 week trip to South Africa with a 3 night stay at the African Pride. I booked an executive room and was not disappointed. The modern decor was very nice. The room was extremely clean, spacious, and just a pleasure to be in. The morning breakfast buffet was good. I ate dinner at The March restaurant one night... food was wonderful and the service very friendly and attentive. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear KenAlaska

What an amazing honor to note that you ended your trip to SA at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel and that we managed to blow you away with immaculate decor and superb food and service!

I am delighted to hear that you will be returning to the Hotel and do hope that it will not be too long before your next visit, as we would love another opportunity to even top this visit with a more remarkable one!

See you soon!


Tania Malan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

this hotel is beautiful! moderen and absolutely upmarket, but very exspensive! it is brilliantly located within Melrose Square and there is such a buzz and so much to do right at your doorstep! the sigar room and stoep is exquisite!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Heilavh

Thank you so much for your words of appreciation posted! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful decor, ambience and amazing atmosphere at the African Pride Melrose Arch as well as the Melrose Arch precinct.

It would be absolutely incredible to be able to invite you back to our property in future!

Kind regards


Tania Malan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

First of all there was probably an overbooking on my original booking at the sister hotel "Fire and Ice" however they emailed that morning and informed me they upgraded me to the nearby African Pride. The pick up driver wasn't informed and took me to the wrong hotel, not a problem as it's 2 minutes away. Style of the hotel is fairly unique and modern. The corridors are lit in red and the rooms have a unique raw red brick wall. Slightly surprised to find an "adult DVD" for guests use inside the room, I guess these will disappear once Marriott finalizes the takeover this quarter. Staff are exactly what you expect from a 5 star. Polite and friendly. The rain showers are very large and super powerful. The bath tub was very large and oval shaped however the water was a yellowish colour. ( something I am used to living in China ) The TV stations all had bad signal. Welcome amenities include 2 bags of M&M's quite unique! A turn down service and single truffle left on the pillow. Bed was a typical 5 star standard. ( although a small dot of stain on the duvet cover which you wouldn't normally see from this calibre of hotel ) Well stocked bar and complimentary french press coffee. In all a nice hotel that I would choose again and expect to see some changes with Marriott buying the group out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Stephen B

Thank you for the time taken to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel's modern decor and contemporary feel as well that we met your expectations in terms of a 5* establishment. The STAFF at the Hotel are one of our biggest attributes and always amazing to hear that they made our GUESTS stay complete!

Please accept my apologies for the linen as well as the reception quality on your television screen. This has received the necessary attention and will most certainly not be repeated in future.

Your comment regarding the driver that was not informed is valued feedback and have been taken up with both reservations and concierge departments as your upgrade to the Hotel should have been evident at the time of collection from the aiport already.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our amazing establishment and can confirm that we are all excitedly looking forward to what the future may hold!

Regards

Tania Malan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
370 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $122 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing