We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$194
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$196
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
$81
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$173
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveler rating
420
244
67
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
244
67
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelrose archlibrary baroystersm msmarch restaurantrubber duckiessurround soundvirgin gymsurrounded by restaurantsgated communitytravel deskfabulous hotelbreakfast buffetsafe areashopping and restaurantshotel is locatedrain shower
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 767 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really satisfied with the great service and friendly staff. Was not too thrilled when my wife said she booked us in at Melrose Arch Hotel for my Birthday. Don’t really like hotels, but went with it. Food was great, especially the breakfast. Good bar service and cocktail knowledge. The room and hotel in general was really clean, can’t say that for most hotels 5 star or not. So just want to say thank you Melrose Arc, you impressed us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Pieter N
The TEAM are delighted to have converted you to a hotel enthusiast!
We would also like to thank your wife, for making the decision to spoil you in such a special manner for your birthday - a visit to our beautiful hotel!
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your memories!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I really like this hotel, I like the location and decor, and it has the potential. But currently I fail to see how this place has five stars.

On arrival the valet said if we wanted to park at the door and be helped with our bags it is R85 a day. We said that is ridiculous so he said we could park underground and carry our own bags up which we did. On check in the front desk seemed horrified that we had to do this.

Room was good and clean, mini bar extremely over priced ( I have stayed in more exclusive places and this is either free or priced reasonably, (R50 for a Snapple is insane)

First night we had drinks at the pool, ordered mojitos which were served with lemons and not limes. Menu indicated limes, and quite frankly don't serve mojitos if you don't have the ingredients. Tapas foods we had pork ribs (good) duck samosas (strange) haloumi cheese ( completely undercooked with no colour)

Drinks same night in library, sat outside, great atmosphere, waited 10 minutes to be served by a gent with a bad attitude. Cocktails strawberry daq (good) blueberry fiz (bad tasted like they literally used a whole ginger in fact there were large chunks) we asked if we could see a menu for the hotel restaurant while we had drinks to decide where to dine, we were told to fetch it ourselves from reception (five star I think not)

Dinner we eventually ate in the room. This was satisfactory

Breakfast we arrived at the restaurant gave our room number and sat down. We were presented with the menu and were told we can either have buffet or choose off what looked like ala carte. We had scrambled eggs and salmon on toast( we asked for rye and they don't have this) so tough luck if you have a wheat in tolerance. Toast was cremated and salmon had bones in. We also had a cappuccino each. We asked for the bill and were presented with a bill for R390. I complained and was told oh sorry we didn't explain the menu properly. And yet they still expected me to sign, told them I am not paying this ridiculous price and they must sort it out.( result of this I don't know yet checking out later today so we will see)

We then went to reception and asked them to validate our parking which they duly did.

We returned to the hotel at 5 to shower and go through to shop at sandton. We parked and went upstairs for 30minutes and returned back down to validate our parking only to be told that the parking is charged at R85 by the hotel, even if you park for 1hour they will still bill you R85 as they don't have their own parking! This is pathetic and a joke. For the price this place charges they should sort it out. We then took our ticket and said we would pay oursleves downstairs pissed off at the fact that the lady from the morning just charged our room and didn't bother to tell us.

We looked at the pay parking in the underground and found that the maximum the pay parking charges is R75' yes the hotel has a cheek to charge you a R10 premium for something that should be free.

Dinner we ate out at the Orient it was good.

All in all not impressed and these issues need to be addressed, I am a firm believer that staff attitude and experience comes from above, so I would suggest that management takes a serious look at themselves before coming down on their staff which ultimately take the lead from them.

Protea and African Pride are fantastic hotels (15 on orange excellent) but this place is well below par.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinetic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear kinetic46
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking my call a little earlier to discuss your visit.
The TEAM are very disappointed to hear that you did not get to experience The African Pride Melrose Arch for what we pride ourselves in – service beyond expectation.
All the points mentioned have been looked into, and addressed with the TEAM; current service and product training is continuously taking place at the hotel – your points mentioned have been highlighted to ensure these do not occur again.
The TEAM – look forward to your return, and I can’t wait to personally welcome you back soon!
Sincere regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good stores and several options of restaurants around. Hotel is very modern and the breakfast was amazing, I really enjoyed. The option for dining are very good. It is a great alternative if one does not want to stay in the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank ChicagoPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear ChicagoPink
Thank you for staying with us – the Gautrain from OR Tambo International, to Sandton is a very easy and convenient way to get to the best of what JHB has to offer!
The TEAM are glad you enjoyed our dining options – specially our breakfast!
Safe travels – see you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Every single piece of the decorations is very interesting and will catch your eye. Bed was very comfortable and fluffy. At night time, Marble Arch is very safe but very "sterile", not many people wandering around, everybody seems to have a destination like a restaurant or bar. And there are many of them near the Hotel. The diversity of the Buffet Breakfast was nice to look at but it seems that the bakery is not the Chef's forté. The 2 little rubber duckies next to the large bath tub was a success for the 8 year old boy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Mayke2
The TEAM are pleased to hear that you had a good night’s rest, in our fluffy beds and that the décor excited your senses!
We have revisited our breakfast offering and upgraded our pastry selection, to include new Danishes, Granola Bars and a selection of new sweet treats.
Our ducks are a hit – I hope they had a good bath with your son!!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This retro-style luxury hotel hits the spot in terms of trendy city living in the heart of the Melrose Arch precinct. Melrose Arch is the secure enclave in the heart of perceived dangerous Melrose Arch, where tourists feel free to wander around at midnight, a fantastic alternative to the giant Sandton City structure. The hotel's large comfortable rooms, with the special touch of coffee plunger and M&M's, plus a rubber duck in the bathtub, ensure all your needs are anticipated in a luxury environment that retains its sense of humour. Which is useful for the check-in process, because even though the precinct tries to capture the beat of New York, the check-in process has been inefficient and time-consuming just about every time I stayed. The good looking, strong valets, who would not condescend to be called bellboys, add to the appeal for lady travellers. Breakfast is a typically abundant, extravagant affair, as is want for five-star South African hotels, (tip: don't od breakfast room service - you won't know what you are missing!) and the ala carte menu produces some curious results (make sure you know what you are ordering - they feel the need to put a spin on every dish). The breakfast buffet goes on diet over the weekend though - which was disapopinting, since I took my family there one Sunday morning, when we were in Jhb en-route to Kruger, and we were told that all the salmon options were out of stock (there is absolutely no Halaal meat provision). There is a fantastic restaurant a step out the door - good meat dishes, wide variety. And while you're at it, have lunch in the shallow end of the pool. The extra cost to use the gym in the precinct is a bit ridiculous.

Room Tip: Tip: pay the bit extra for a pool view room - the parking lot is a poor alternative).
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fagmeedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Fagmeedah
We have taken elements of New York and added our African design touches and warmth to offer the best of both!
It was a pleasure to host you, thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent feedback!
The TEAM have taken note of your points and will ensure that these are addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews