We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Feast your eyes !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feast your eyes !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Every single piece of the decorations is very interesting and will catch your eye. Bed was very comfortable and fluffy. At night time, Marble Arch is very safe but very "sterile", not many people wandering around, everybody seems to have a destination like a restaurant or bar. And there are many of them near the Hotel. The diversity of the Buffet Breakfast was nice to look at but it seems that the bakery is not the Chef's forté. The 2 little rubber duckies next to the large bath tub was a success for the 8 year old boy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mayke2
The TEAM are pleased to hear that you had a good night’s rest, in our fluffy beds and that the décor excited your senses!
We have revisited our breakfast offering and upgraded our pastry selection, to include new Danishes, Granola Bars and a selection of new sweet treats.
Our ducks are a hit – I hope they had a good bath with your son!!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    176
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
67
161
39
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This retro-style luxury hotel hits the spot in terms of trendy city living in the heart of the Melrose Arch precinct. Melrose Arch is the secure enclave in the heart of perceived dangerous Melrose Arch, where tourists feel free to wander around at midnight, a fantastic alternative to the giant Sandton City structure. The hotel's large comfortable rooms, with the special touch of coffee plunger and M&M's, plus a rubber duck in the bathtub, ensure all your needs are anticipated in a luxury environment that retains its sense of humour. Which is useful for the check-in process, because even though the precinct tries to capture the beat of New York, the check-in process has been inefficient and time-consuming just about every time I stayed. The good looking, strong valets, who would not condescend to be called bellboys, add to the appeal for lady travellers. Breakfast is a typically abundant, extravagant affair, as is want for five-star South African hotels, (tip: don't od breakfast room service - you won't know what you are missing!) and the ala carte menu produces some curious results (make sure you know what you are ordering - they feel the need to put a spin on every dish). The breakfast buffet goes on diet over the weekend though - which was disapopinting, since I took my family there one Sunday morning, when we were in Jhb en-route to Kruger, and we were told that all the salmon options were out of stock (there is absolutely no Halaal meat provision). There is a fantastic restaurant a step out the door - good meat dishes, wide variety. And while you're at it, have lunch in the shallow end of the pool. The extra cost to use the gym in the precinct is a bit ridiculous.

Room Tip: Tip: pay the bit extra for a pool view room - the parking lot is a poor alternative).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fagmeedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Fagmeedah
We have taken elements of New York and added our African design touches and warmth to offer the best of both!
It was a pleasure to host you, thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent feedback!
The TEAM have taken note of your points and will ensure that these are addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Clean rooms, but that red light in the rooms makes me feel like Im in the "Red Light District - Amsterdam." As for some, this could be quite fun if you are here for a dirty weekend. Jokes aside, central if you are working in the Melrose Arch Precinct. All you need is a walk in any direction.

Room Tip: Ask for suites on 3rd floor seem to be good value for money. I got a pro card which works out well i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmidhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Schmidhauser
The TEAM are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the benefits of our excellent Prokard Loyalty Program!
We have implemented lighting changes in our rooms, which has resulted in improved night lighting around the beds.
Thanks for the feedback and for staying with us!
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very poor lighting choices in hallways. Red reading lights above bed so you couldn't read. Weird room design. Unusual choice of furniture in lobby. That said safe hotel in good shopping areas with attentive staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Julles18
The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel and Precinct is one of JHB's best destinations – the TEAM were pleased to hear they took good care of you during your stay!
We have addressed the lighting matter in our rooms – we have recently changed all hotel lighting to low watt LED lighting in line with the hotel’s greening initiatives to improve our energy efficiency.
I am sure you will be satisfied with the changes in the rooms on your next trip!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited this hotel in October 2013 and had a great time. Excellent location, and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity.

The rooms are modern and very comfortable, though looking a bit tired and may be due for a re-fit soon. Very well appointed, with lovely bathroom facilities. The only down side that I found was that although the lighting was very creative, there was nothing remotely like decent lighting near the bed for reading at night.

The breakfast was excellent, with a very wide selection of items available. Bar food was OK but nothing special. Generally, service was good throughout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Fiona A
The TEAM were delighted to host you, thanks for the visit and the excellent comments!
We have changed the lighting in our bedrooms to provide brighter lighting around the bed for reading at night.
The TEAM look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This am an absolutely amazing location with multi-restaurants around immediately in front of the facility. The staff are not the most friendly or focused on customer service. The facility itself is beautiful and quite modern.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jimmy P
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your feedback!
I am disappointed to hear that the friendliness of the TEAM didn’t shine through on your stay – I will be re-addressing this with the TEAM in our service training program which we are currently running.
I am positive that you will have an amazing experience on your return!
Look forward to seeing you soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our flight arrived at 7 am and the staffs were kind enough to do an early check in. We have to wait a bit while they cleaned the room. We were seated in the restaurant for a wonderful breakfast. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit funky for us but overall clean and comfortable. The only downside is the hotel is within a gated community with limited shopping. However, there is no shortage of decent F&B around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear tkng
The TEAM are glad you enjoyed an amazing breakfast while arranging an early check-in!
We are very pleased that you have discovered one of JHB's best spots to visit - the Melrose Arch Precinct!
Location and security is one of the many features the property has to offer, further boutique retail stores are in the current development plans and should be completed early next year!
The TEAM enjoyed hosting you and look forward to your return!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing