We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, a bit over priced for the service level”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This am an absolutely amazing location with multi-restaurants around immediately in front of the facility. The staff are not the most friendly or focused on customer service. The facility itself is beautiful and quite modern.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Jimmy P
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your feedback!
I am disappointed to hear that the friendliness of the TEAM didn’t shine through on your stay – I will be re-addressing this with the TEAM in our service training program which we are currently running.
I am positive that you will have an amazing experience on your return!
Look forward to seeing you soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 742 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our flight arrived at 7 am and the staffs were kind enough to do an early check in. We have to wait a bit while they cleaned the room. We were seated in the restaurant for a wonderful breakfast. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit funky for us but overall clean and comfortable. The only downside is the hotel is within a gated community with limited shopping. However, there is no shortage of decent F&B around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear tkng
The TEAM are glad you enjoyed an amazing breakfast while arranging an early check-in!
We are very pleased that you have discovered one of JHB's best spots to visit - the Melrose Arch Precinct!
Location and security is one of the many features the property has to offer, further boutique retail stores are in the current development plans and should be completed early next year!
The TEAM enjoyed hosting you and look forward to your return!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very modern and set in an excellent location - 30 minutes driving from the city. The welcome by reception staff was truly excellent and represented the friendliness of South Africa. The continental breakfast was ok but the hot breakfast menu was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aamilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Aamilie
Thank you for the visit, and excellent comments!
We are in the process of revisiting our breakfast offering, to add some new and exciting options, I believe this would be complete on your return!
The TEAM look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My third stay this year and was looking forward to it as much as i was tempted to try something else. Good value for money all round with courtious and helpful staff as always from the doors. Pleasure or business. Adequate and comfortable,busy without being noisy or obtrusive in anyway. Room service is also fresh and warm indicating to me that they are running full capacity with that rather than warming up stuff on the odd chance of a call. House keeping need a little more care and supervision though. My back log of papers waiting my attention was stuffed in the bin,even though there was nothing to indicate i wanted them disposed off as they were neatly stacked on the chair!! Soji

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyesoji o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Oyesoji o
Thank you for not falling for the temptation - the TEAM were delighted to have you back!
I have addressed your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper, she has subsequently spent some additional time with regards to cleaning and refreshing procedures.
On your return, I once again look forward to personally welcoming you back!
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

They have gone out of their way to make the room experience different. Some candy in the room, ducks on the bath, complimentary nibbles. Safe was great it was hidden behind a picture of a person robbing a safe. Very nice rooms. Very safe hotel in a nice area with loads of bars and restaurants around. Have a nice bar on the ground floor with a traditional look and a nice veranda although it was booked when I was there. One of the best hotels I have stayed in Joburg. Conference facilities also good with excellent staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Iain A
Thank you for making our hotel your home in JHB!
The Melrose Arch Precinct is JHB's best location when visiting the city!
The TEAM appreciate your comments and for staying with us - we look forward to your return, and will ensure we keep you a spot in our popular library bar!
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was lucky enough to be booked into the Melrose Arch Hotel by a client.

It turned out that I did not spend the night on my own (as originally planned!), but ended up having to share my room with my 12 year old who could not fly back home the previous day due to an ear infection.

I am not sure which I enjoyed the most – his delight when he arrived at the hotel and saw our room, or his comments during our one night stay. Now I must admit, I have traveled a lot and stayed in many hotels – but this still managed to delight me too!

A luxurious room with a funky bathroom complete with black and white tiles and a neon green lighted shower. Lots of fun things, like having to share your bath with a plastic duck and a special M&M treats next to the bed.

We had lovely views over the stunning pool area which gave us wonderful opportunity to try our photography skills. Which we took further on our stroll through Melrose Arch with interesting architecture, great shops and a wonderful city vibe!

I must mention the great welcome we got, not only from the pleasing decor in reception and special touches, but also by the staff who made us feel like VVIPs.

Another highlight was breakfast. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to enjoy all great variety of decadent food that was on offer. My poor son was so overwhelmed (btw he is a seasoned traveler who has stayed at some of SA’s best hotels) by the breakfast displays, that he completely forgot to enjoy the table full of sweet delicacies, including chocolate brownies! I will have to bring him back especially for this!

So after our great stay, he has now decided that he wants to become a world traveler, stay in wonderful hotels like these and take photos. To my question of “who is going to pay for it all” he could only shrug his shoulders! Guess I will have to take a second job now!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear MoniqueStrydom
The TEAM really enjoyed your comments!
We are elated to hear that we have converted your son, to become a seasoned traveller!
Anytime he transits via O.R.Tambo we will send some of the brownies he missed from the buffet!
All the best with that savings fund!
The TEAM look forward to your return - safe travels and thank you for staying with us!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Room great, location great.

Shame no gym on site and they feel the need to charge you 200 rand a day to use another one nearby. Thought a basic requirement of an international hotel?

Try the club sandwich on the room service menu - it's out of this world. Best room service food ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWorleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear TheWorleys

Thank you for the excellent feedback, and for staying at our beautiful hotel!
We are looking into a long term solution regarding the gym facilities and usage thereof.
If you enjoyed our Club Sandwich - on your return I recommend our Gourmet Burger, fit for a king!
Can't wait to host you again!
Personal best
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $166 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing