We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great hotel - beautiful rooms in a wonderful location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The entire hotel has a great, fun feel and is conveniently located next to shopping and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyRed005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear JimmyRed005
Fantastic, great, beautiful reviews are what my TEAM strive for!
Thank you very much for staying with us, we are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience!
Travel well – we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    172
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
63
160
39
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent two nights here recently, and were excited to return after a visit several years ago. The rooms are always quite special. African Pride calls this a HIP hotel, and when you enter your room, you'll see why - the quirky lighting in the bathroom and your own ducks to make bathtime, well, different. The chocolates on your pillows with the turndown service are a lovely touch too. Service is also good - nothing was too much for anyone.
Having Melrose Arch on your doorstep is also pleasant. It allows one to amble around, enjoying a rather civilised shopping experience.
The only thing that's disappointing is the gym facility, or at least the lack thereof.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Grant H
What a pleasure to host you on your return!
The TEAM were delighted to hear that we still exude our HIP status!
Thank you very much for the amazing feedback and for staying with us – we look forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

From the welcome at the door to the decor, rooms ,food ,attention to detail and fun quirky facets. Like ducks in your bath and a restaurant in the pool. This hotel really has it all. Great location too. The cutest thing is the way they do the room for little kids. Can't wait to use this hotel for our event.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Glynda K
It was an absolute pleasure to personally meet and host you!
Thank you for the excellent feedback!
It’s all in the detail – glad you liked the ducks, kids room setup….and Chef’s cupcakes, you made his day!
Look forward to having you back soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gugsy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

it's a nice hotel, with very good rooms. The staff are friendly and efficient, and meals were reasonable standard. There are no gym facilities and you have to pay extra to walk up to a local Virgin active. There is limited free wifi. The location is excellent, in a classy part of town with good shopping and dining options.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Gugsy
Thank you very much for staying with us during your trip to JHB!
I am very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay, and that you enjoyed the shopping and dining experience the Melrose Arch precinct has to offer!
We look forward to having you back soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My recent stay at the Melrose Arch was amazing.
My husband and i almost forgot it was check out time at 11am.
The fact that we could select a movie to watch in our room was great.
The March restaurant looks stunning and the breakfast was great.
We were really impressed with the handwritten welcome note (as opposed to typed) we found in our room.
The rose petals in our room was a great romantic touch.

Thanks for making our stay memorable.

Regards
Uche & Belinda

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaE207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear BelindaE207
Your HIP feedback is amazing!
The TEAM are elated to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, and that check out time almost passed you by!
This can only mean one thing – you have to come back….we update our DVD library every quarter, so join us for the next box office releases!
Can't wait to host you again - see you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel represents the best South Africa has to offer, great service, nice specious rooms, wonderful decor in the rooms and everywhere in the hotel, great bathrooms, good restaurant with unbeatable breakfast, the hotel is situated in the heart of the Melrose Arch entertainment area, with lots of good restaurants and cafe's all around,The staff at the reception desk - to mention a few: Mangi, David, Daniel, and all others are very professional, extremely helpful, friendly and attentive, Every stay at this hotel is nothing less then a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Uri O
Your feedback to the TEAM is a great way to start our week!
The hotel and Melrose Arch precinct is an amazing lifestyle complex, showcasing some of the best of what JHB has to offer!
Thank you very much for staying with us - safe travels!
Personal best
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked at Hotel for special occasion on a promotional package that included Dinner at the Hotel "March" restaurant as well as the full breakfast.
Rooms unique, well appointed with the overall design interesting and fun.
Dinner excellent with the sampling menu offered exceptional value given most of the items we selected for main courses and deserts were only possible in full portion sizes!! The desserts were amazing!
Breakfast selection the best I have experienced. Quality and presentation impressive.
Very enjoyable stay with good service and attention to detail, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the swimming pool side (inside courtyard) for the best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgRetief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Igr2
Thank you for enjoying this special memory with us!
We strive to create experiences to remember, the TEAM are elated to hear that your stay was exceptional!
We look forward to hosting you again for another special occasion!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing