We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I love this place. Located in the heart of Melrose Arch.
The staff is more than very friendly! The rooms are quite spacious, i always stay in a executive room. The decor of the rooms is very inviting and makes you feel good.
Very nice lobby/bar in colonial style and a very trendy restaurant with nice food (a bit above average i would say).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Mike S
We love hosting you!
The TEAM really appreciate your review regarding their service delivery and friendliness.
We are very pleased to hear that you have discovered one of JHB’s best destinations - Melrose Arch!
The TEAM look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 692 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

A great experience! The hotel is new, fresh, cool and my room (224) was very space overlooking the square. The pool is in a courtyard and there is an aerea where tables stand in the water.
The breakfast is excellent. They do not have a Nespresso mchine in the room and the service at reception is very slow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Go100go
Thank you for your cool comments!
We are 10 years young this year – our new March restaurant opened on the 1st Feb 13 and has given the hotel a sophisticated new edge!
We are in the process of upgrading our in room offerings, and have taken note of your feedback.
My front desk TEAM has also revisited service training to ensure that no delays occur.
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

African Pride Melrose Arch:
We stayed for the weekend and it was a very pleasant stay. Something to remember!
The staff at reception was great. The room was very special (with a few extra’s included).
The March restaurant is something special, décor, menu (waterblommetjie bredie, etc.).
The hotel is very close to Santon City and the Rosebank Mall.
A pool where you can sit in the water and have a drink.
(Thanks Zene)

Room Tip: Pool facing should be the best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSPieterse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear KS Pieterse
When a weekend includes enjoying a drink in our pool, one is sure it will be a weekend to remember!
Thanks for the excellent feedback and for staying with us, the TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience!
See you soon.
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel has everything you need to make your stay an enjoyable one. The location is perfect with everything you need a short walk away. The only thing missing would be a health spa although there are various health and beauty treatment places a short distance away.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Naickert
Thank you very much for spending the night with us, the TEAM were pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay!
We offer personalized collection to and from the Spa next to the hotel.
Our daybeds at the poolside, are also recommended for private treatments on a beautiful sunny JHB day!
We look forward to hosting you again!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hubby and I chose to celebrate our anniversary at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. What an excellent choice! From our arrival on Friday afternoon through to our departure on Sunday afternoon we were regarded royalty. We were welcomed by a choice of apple juice or champagne by a team of genuinely friendly Reception staff. On signing in we were promptly upgraded. Nice touch! Especially since it was our 33rd anniversary. On arrival at our room we were surprised to find a handwritten welcome note, a bottle of champagne and a tray of snacks and biscuits. The room was spacious and comfortable with a built in flat screen tv, dvd (with a selection of dvd's) etc etc,. The view was great even though not spectacular and the bathroom and shower spacious. Dining at the March Restaurant wasn't spectacular - the food was mediocre although very well presented. The wine list was great and offered a great variety. Breakfast in bed the following morning was a disappointment. The food was cold(ish) and slightly oily. The pool was a pleasant experience - with tables in the pool and the tired, city feet could chill and relax in the water whilst sipping tall cold drinks. We dined outside of the hotel that evening but couldn't wait to return to the comfort and luxury of our room. We left the hotel the next morning rather sadly. Once again, the Reception staff were excellence personified. What a pleasure! We look forward to our next stay at this really excellent hotel with its staff who proved to two cynical people that service, comfort and care can still be had in a city who became renowned for poor service and sloppy attitudes from staff! Well done African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Management. You have a winning combination here! Lastly, i have to add that the location is superb! I loved the shopping, the coffee shops and general ambience of Melrose Arch. Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Loraine B

The TEAM were delighted to host you for this memorable occasion, and enjoyed reading about your amazing experience!
Thank you for sharing this special event with us.
We are elated to hear that you had such a great stay, and look forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great service - front desk and breakfast staff friendly and remember you by name. Breakfast buffet well presented - oysters a nice touch! Rooms clean and comfortable but a bit dark and small for a couple.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear BloDaJo
Great comments – thank you very much - we appreciate your feedback and for staying with us!
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast – oysters in the morning are great start to any day!
We cannot wait to host you again!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was fortunate enough to attend a luncheon at the March Restaurant last month. The food was good, but, as a vegetarian, it still felt like the food I was given was an afterthought. This was quite disappointing since everything else about this restaurant was impeccable - front of house staff were on point, and decor was most impressive!

Well done to the management for putting out such an iinspiring product! I will will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDVtripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear DDVtripadv
Thank you very much for the excellent feedback, and for your support!
We have subsequently included a separate vegetarian selection on our menu, we would love to host you again to sample some of Chef's latest additions.
Look forward to seeing you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
615 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $149 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing