We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspired!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inspired!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was fortunate enough to attend a luncheon at the March Restaurant last month. The food was good, but, as a vegetarian, it still felt like the food I was given was an afterthought. This was quite disappointing since everything else about this restaurant was impeccable - front of house staff were on point, and decor was most impressive!

Well done to the management for putting out such an iinspiring product! I will will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDVtripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear DDVtripadv
Thank you very much for the excellent feedback, and for your support!
We have subsequently included a separate vegetarian selection on our menu, we would love to host you again to sample some of Chef's latest additions.
Look forward to seeing you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    214
    58
    21
    12
See reviews for
88
207
44
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
207 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while on business - an extremely good hotel. Rooms are very large and nicely appointed with spacious bathrooms and a comfy bed. Staff are excellent - friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good - I didn't eat in the evening as there was so much choice within the Melrose Arch development. There was a power cut while there which lasted approx 16hrs and the hotel handled it very well - back up generators ensured each room was lit and the public area stayed operational with no visible sign of problems - so full marks to all the staff for this. Good wifi which was free is a bonus. Will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear PlummyDorking
On behalf of the TEAM it was a pleasure to host you!
Please accept my apologies for the power disruptions – I am delighted to hear that despite the interruption you had such an incredible experience!
On your return, please join us for dinner in our new March Restaurant, we have some phenomenal signature dishes to offer!
We look forward to having you back soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

In September last year, I visited Johannesburg for the first time. We stayed at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel for a week. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It located in the heart of Melrose Arch surrounded by restaurants and cafes. It is a great boutique hotel with quirky deco. I loved it.

The breakfast was fantastic, plenty varieties of quality food. The service was equally with high standard. The bar on the terrace was facing a square which filled with restaurants and eating places, it’s an interesting place to watch the world passing by while enjoying a drink or two. The hotel also offers its guests complimentary champagne, juice & port in the evenings which is a great gesture to make its guests feel like at home.

The hotel staff were very friendly, I’m more than happy to recommend African Pride Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petitewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Petitewave
Thank you for the excellent feedback, the TEAM were delighted to host you!
The Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct is JHB’s premier destination - I am very pleased to hear that you had such an amazing experience!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you are looking for a nice hotel in a safe, upscale area of Johannesburg, take a look at this one. I do not know when it was opened, but it appears to be pretty new. There are many excellent restaurants very close, shopping, banking, coffee shops, wine bars and the wonderful atmosphere of the hotel property itself. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are really interesting and modern. The pool area is fun as you can sit at an umbrella table eating a meal or snack while you are right in a wading pool! They just expanded and opened their new dining area where they also serve a great buffet breakfast. My only complaint was that the single beds in a twin room were very small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room surrounding the pool or overlooking the pool...nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Schleuder
As unbelievable as it sounds, the hotel has been in operation for 10 years!
Thank you for your amazing review, we opened our new March Restaurant on the 1st February, and cannot wait to host you on your return!
The TEAM look forward to welcoming you back, your table in the pool is waiting!
See you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm generally a great fan of getting out of the city to relax but I decisded to start off a break with for my partners 30th birthday at Melrose Arch. The hotel is awesome and the experience was great from start to finish. We had lunch at the pool where your table and chair are place inside the pool. It is a great experience and the food was good too. The highlight for my partner was the breakfasts. She could start her day off with osters and champagne. The rest of the breakfast was also top class. The rooms are equipped with everything could want with a flat screen TV and surround sound. Overall the experience was great and I would recommend it as a city break anytime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Savistor
You could not have chosen a better way to celebrate your 30th!
The TEAM are delighted to hear that it was such a memorable experience!
Thank you for staying with us, and for the excellent feedback!
We look forward to celebrating many more occasions together!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Marches Restaurant at the Melrose Arch hotel is staffed by incompetents. After making a booking on the 2nd of Feb for Valentines Day, I called to confirm the reservation on the 12th only to be told that they could not find my reservation and that they would make a plan.

I then received an email a few hours later, confirming what they had planned for the evening and letting me know that I would be put on a waiting list.

I would not entrust the Hotel or Restaurant for a special event as they will let you down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Word_Traveller_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Word_Traveller_ZA
I am delighted to hear that we were able to assist, and that you had an excellent Valentines evening with us!
My sincere apologies for the miscommunication surrounding your reservation, this was addressed with the TEAM, and will not occur again.
As discussed telephonically, we cannot wait to host you again!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

great boutique hotel with awesome and happy staff.
great place to stay (rooms are a perhaps a little strange and try-hard in design) but the common areas, staff and service was almost perfect. the breakfast was really good as was chilling on the terrace watching people. lots of nice shops and cafes etc surrounding the hotel and completely secure and safe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickypeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Pickypeterpan
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such an excellent experience at the hotel, and that you had the opportunity to explore and enjoy the Melrose Arch precinct.
Thank you for staying with us, safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing