We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Destroyed Valentines Day Plans” 1 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Destroyed Valentines Day Plans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Marches Restaurant at the Melrose Arch hotel is staffed by incompetents. After making a booking on the 2nd of Feb for Valentines Day, I called to confirm the reservation on the 12th only to be told that they could not find my reservation and that they would make a plan.

I then received an email a few hours later, confirming what they had planned for the evening and letting me know that I would be put on a waiting list.

I would not entrust the Hotel or Restaurant for a special event as they will let you down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Word_Traveller_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Word_Traveller_ZA
I am delighted to hear that we were able to assist, and that you had an excellent Valentines evening with us!
My sincere apologies for the miscommunication surrounding your reservation, this was addressed with the TEAM, and will not occur again.
As discussed telephonically, we cannot wait to host you again!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    175
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
67
160
39
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

great boutique hotel with awesome and happy staff.
great place to stay (rooms are a perhaps a little strange and try-hard in design) but the common areas, staff and service was almost perfect. the breakfast was really good as was chilling on the terrace watching people. lots of nice shops and cafes etc surrounding the hotel and completely secure and safe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickypeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Pickypeterpan
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such an excellent experience at the hotel, and that you had the opportunity to explore and enjoy the Melrose Arch precinct.
Thank you for staying with us, safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel pushed all the right buttons for us. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room by a friendly porter with a good sense of humour. We loved the stylish well appointed room with all its amenities and well thought out details and wished we could have stayed longer to better enjoy all the facilities. The pool area was very inviting and I imagine it is a great place to spend a few hours. Our only complaint was the tough steak we had for dinner in the restaurant but the breakfast buffet more than made up for it. This was the best breakfast buffet I've seen in a long time and we especially enjoyed the oysters and caviar. We left feeling refreshed having been very well looked after - nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Cathy K
On behalf of my TEAM, I would like to thank you for your amazing comments, and for staying with us!
The TEAM were delighted to hear about your buttons…bring them with on your return!!!
We cannot wait to host you again - see you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

It's not my first stay and my overall impression didn't change
Nice hotel, so so amenities , rooms are not so big- definitely not a 5 star hotel
Located in an isolated area but there are some shops and restaurants around

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shlbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Shlbre
Thank you very much for staying with us, the TEAM really appreciate your feedback!
We do have different room categories and can offer an upgrade on your return!
The precinct is a great place to visit, with numerous restaurants and designer shops to explore.
See you soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

First time in Joburg and I stayed here for 3 nights. Amazing people here. The staff are really friendly. Great personalities. The rooms are very nice. Tastefully furnished and practical. The food....well I have not eaten much at the hotel as there are so many nice to eat places around the hotel? Would I come back? For sure with deeper pockets though!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Amani M
It was a pleasure to meet and host you!
The TEAM are very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at the hotel, and an excellent first trip to JHB!
We look forward to having you back soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I booked this hotel on a recommendation from a very chic friend, expecting to be disappointed.. Well I was totally shocked; it was totally awesome modern chic hotel... I was in room 309... room was spectacular, I could have stayed in the shower 24/7..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Francis B
The TEAM are delighted that you were totally shocked with our awesome hotel!
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for the excellent review!
We appreciate your kind words, and cannot wait to welcome you back!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Standards definitely dropped on our last visit in December 2012. Overall staff morale seemed low which impacted on the service. The pool was not particularly clean nor child friendly. Also our request to specify dietary requirements to the chef was frowned upon...which indicates disrespect to guests unique needs. Reception not ALLOWED to provide telephone number or email address of the General Manager. So much for being accessible to the guests . Quality of the rooms were fine, but overall experience was not satisfactory. Think the Fire and Ice around the corner will get my business in future....

Ps .... This was my third stay at the hotel.... So this recommendation is not a once off experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsmailLambat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Lambat
Thank you very much for staying with us.
The TEAM are very disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations.
As discussed telephonically all the points raised have been addressed through correction and training.
We look forward to personally welcoming you back for an amazing stay!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing