We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

i stay at the African Pride Melrose arch Hotel for about 6 weeks per year and have done so for the past 5 years.It is a great Hotel in all respects.

Food is good but there are many restaurants within a few minutes stroll as well.The service is excellent and the accomodation is very comfortable and afro-mod.

The location is perfect and safety and security are all fine.Staff are very very friendly and welcoming.

I highly reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sayan69
Thank you for the excellent feedback!
The TEAM cannot thank you enough, for staying with us for the last 6 years – we look forward to hosting you for many more ahead!
In 2013 we are proud to offer a number of exciting upgrades to our beautiful hotel!
We cannot wait to see you in the new year - safe travels!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    172
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
62
160
38
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is one of the most beautifully decorated hotels with good use of lighting. Extremely clean and comfortable beds. Excellent location, you can shop in the mall located in Melrose, great variety of restaurants for a private dinner or fun night out with friends without having to drive afterwards. In upmarket area of Johannesburg, close to Sandton and Rosebank with Gautrain bus passing thru the complex.

The service is terrible. From front desk to porters. For a 5 star hotel, they need major training for staff.

Tip, the parking is not free and the valet guys have a bad attitude.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dineo_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Dineo_m
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your feedback!
I am glad to hear you got some shopping in just before the festive break.
On behalf of my TEAM, please accept my sincere apologies for the service experience.
As discussed telephonically, all the points will be addressed with the TEAM to ensure that this does not happen again.
This is not the norm at the hotel or the standard of service we pride ourselves in offering.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back in the new year!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stunning hotel with oustanding service, beautiful attitudes.
Very relaxing and quiet professional atmosphere
The pool deck is a place to unwind and take a load off
The food was perfect every single time we had the opportunity to eat, really very tasty everytime
My kind of lifestyle

Room Tip: my room was spacious, it makes it more relaxing if you have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Johnathan N
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such an amazing stay and exceptional experience with us!
In the hustle and bustle of JHB, our poolside is the perfect space for some needed relaxation!
We look forward to your next visit!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is an exceptional hotel with extraordinary staff who go out of there way to make you feel welcome and at home in the lap of luxury. It was perfect for business travel and in a beautiful location. I can not fault anything about this hotel! even the room service was phenomenal!!!
defiantly my hotel of choice for all business travel for 2013!!

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing , the 3rd floor is great tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Tara R
Exceptional GUESTS deserve nothing less than extraordinary service!
The TEAM really appreciate your kind words and were proud to be at your service.
Thank you for choosing us as your home while visiting JHB!
Have an awesome New Year – see you in 2013!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spent a week in absolute luxury! The staff were all helpful and friendly, it was so nice to walk around and get greeted and smiled at and made to feel so welcome. The attention to detail was impeccable from the small ones like the local decor of soft-drink can flowers, to the opulent and comfortable layout of the Library Bar! I cannot even begin to describe the food - 5 * almost doesn't quite cover it - from the simplest breakfast to the most elaborate fine dining dinner experience everything was simply delicious. I can honestly say that staying at African Pride really helped soften the blow of a week long business conference. Thank you to the team!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Sam R
It was an amazing week - my TEAM really enjoyed hosting you guys!
Thank you for staying with us, and for the excellent feedback regarding your experience!
We cannot wait to host you again in the new year and showcase our beautiful, newly refurbished restaurant.
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

What makes a 5 Star hotel is it's attention to detail in ALL respects! The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has abundance of this, from the attentive doorman throughout to the waiters in the bar and the restaurant!
The rooms are tastefully and exquisitely furnished to cater even for the most discerning taste! The hotel competes with the very best in the world!!!
This was surely one of the best hotels I've visited in a very long time and will certainly be visiting them again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear DaveSet

The TEAM are at your service, it was an absolute pleasure to meet and host you!
It’s all in the detail, we are humbled to hear that this has resonated in your experience with us!
We trust you had some well deserved R&R….between the shopping!!
We look forward to hosting you again in the new year!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Spent just one say in the hotel, in special circumstances. My wife was feeling bad after strong wind in safari.
The personnel was very helpfull, knew exactly what to do, called the doctor from the moment we arrived and insisted untill he arrived fast.
Besides that, the rooms are having a very imaginative design and cosy atmosphere.
In the morning we found the best breakfast on South Africa (and we've been to Cape Grace, Lee Manor etc), with caviar, oysters and champagne.
A special mention for the positioning, surrounded by great restaurants, vibrant life at dinner and nice (but expensive) shopping locations.
Most of all, a safe area in Johanesburg.
Really positive surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Mihai P
The TEAM were very relieved to hear that your wife left in good health!
Your amazing feedback was "additional" caffeine to my breakfast TEAMs’ morning coffee!
We have just implemented Lavender and Lime Macaroons for breakfast - they are worth the return visit!
Thank you for visiting our beautiful country, and for staying with us - see you soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing