We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Melrose Arch Hotel for two nights in October and it is a fabulous contemorary hotel. We had a deluxe room which was very impressive, infact as nice a room as I have ever stayed in, for me it had the wow factor. The bathroom and shower were superb and came with it's own rubber ducks which was a clever, amusing little touch. The bathroom / bedroom is open plan ( there is a curtain you can pull across if you want to) with a seperate shower room and toilet. The hotel is in a gated area which has everything you could possibly need in the way of restaurants, bars and shops and lot's of atmosphere. The staff get a ten from me as does the breakfast. Would I stay there again? Yes, for sure I would, would I recommend it? absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Suffolk Stella

My TEAM really appreciate your kind words, and are elated to hear that you had such an incredible experience at our hotel!
We have some exciting developments at the hotel coming soon, to ensure that we continue to offer a unique and dynamic product to all who visit!
I look forward to welcoming you back – safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    172
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
63
160
39
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a really good hotel and it is conveniently located. The design detail is beautiful. the rooms are fantastic. Staff are well trained and very professional. The only complaint I have is that our room keys would be cancelled every afternoon and we both ended up going back to the front desk every afternoon, after first trying the room, to have the room key reprogrammed. We were told that we had demagnetized our keys with our cell phones but this is simply not true. This is the only hotel in the hundreds we've stayed at where this has happened. And it happened every day at the Melrose Arch hotel. It costs 150 rand to take a taxi from this hotel to Sandton shopping center. We enjoyed everything about this hotel except for the key issue. Food was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Globaltraveller62
Love your comment - fantastic, well trained, professional - music to my ears!
I am extremely proud that the TEAM delivered such an amazing experience for you to enjoy such a memorable stay at our hotel!
We have had our entire door lock system audited, to resolve the inconvenience caused with your key, please accept my apologies for this.
Our courtesy shuttle runs through to the Gautrain station in Sandton, we are in the process of reviewing this service to improve the offering.
Thanks for your review and for staying with us, the TEAM look forward to hosting you again!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Melrose Arch for one night on a transit to the Game Reserve. The hotel was recommended by the travel agent as I did not know where to stay in Joburg in terms of safety. The hotel is in a little gated town where all the restaurants, shopping malls, office blocks, hotels and apartments are in one place. Once you're through the gates, you feel like you're in a different world. The hotel is a very modern, contemporary and unique. If you're stopping by Joburg for a night or two then this hotel might be the one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaymet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Kaymet
We are the one!! Thanks for your excellent feedback! The hotel is also very close to all major logistical access points in JHB – we offer a courtesy shuttle Monday’s through Friday’s to the Sandton Gautrain station. I am very pleased to hear you had such a great stay, and wonderful experience, in our beautiful country!
Thank you for your staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenAhmed
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice, once for one night, then a week later for 2 nights.

The front desk team were great, on hand to offer any support needed. The door staff so polite and very helpful.

Evan? has a great team of waiters and they are very keen to ensure you have a great meal.

The breakfast really is one of the best I have ever had in any hotel, more choice and everything such top quality. The Cap Classique was great way to start the day, as were the oysters, cured meats, fresh fruit and thats all before you order your hot breakfast. Suck a pleasure.

The rooms are nice, have a modern feel, I would prefer a seperate bathroom and non see throgh doors/mirrors to the shower.


Its expensive, but you do get what you pay for so it is fair.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Ben Ahmed
Everyday should start with Bubbly and Oysters!
What makes us proud, and keeps us on our toes are service related comments. The TEAM continue to work on service delivery to ensure that your experience at the hotel is memorable.
We are elated with your feedback, thank you for staying with us while in JHB – we look forward to hosting you again!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've used this hotel on quite a few occasions and most likely to use it on several more. The location is great and some really good restaurants just across the road - one is spoilt for choice. The Orient, which serves pan-Asian cuisine is by far one of the best places I have sampled eastern cuisine in. Moyo, the African restaurant is pretty good too.

Rooms are very nice and roomy. The bath tub almost in the room was a bit disconcerting at first, but one gets used to it soon enough.

The bar is lovely and offers a great selection of drinks. Service at the bar is pretty good too. Menu choices are a bit restricted, especially for a vegetarian. But with the choice of restaurants nearby, it does not matter too much.

Overall, the Melrose Arch precinct is great, but about a quarter the size of Sandton. One tends to outgrow the place fairly quickly if one is a regular visitor or plans to stay for a long time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiiTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear MiiTMO
Thanks for your amazing feedback and for staying with us while in JHB!
I am sure you will enjoy the new extended vegetarian options we have recently added to our Library Bar menu, our March Restaurant has also just won best dish of 2012, at the Taste of Johannesburg.
The Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct has a myriad of activities to offer, from business to leisure - should you wish to travel through to Sandton, we also have a courtesy shuttle Monday’s through Friday’s.
Look forward to your next visit!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Travelling to Johannesburg for business is fast becoming a regular thing, and having to do all my events around the Melrose Arch area, decided it would be best to stay nearby, and chose the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. The location is perfect in terms of surrounding restaurants, and business centres, and even as a leisure stay, you would be very comfortable. We were very well looked after, and even accommodated with an extra late check-out due to our evening flight back home. They are very busy during the week, so I realise that this was a large request, but that made all the difference to our very busy schedule. The staff didn't know about the Gautrain feeder services at all though. I realise that most of their visitors usually use chauffeurs when staying at the hotel, but were unable to assist with a taxi or shuttle to the Gautrain stations, and couldn't assist with showing us where the feeder service stops were either. It could make a big difference just to be knowledgeable about public transportation, even if it's not needed often. We were helped with a GM transfer to the station when we were running late due to the 'free" shuttles not arriving when we were advised it would, and managed to just make our flight home, but the stress could have been avoided a little if we were informed correctly earlier in the day when we asked for assistance at the front desk and concierge.
The rooms are lovely and spacious. The Duckies are a great touch in the bathrooms.. made me feel very at home.. Home sick for my son in fact, but had a great rest, and hope to return there again next month on my next visit!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Kathy B
You could not have selected a better location in JHB for all your business requirements!
On your next visit, we have two Duckies for your son!
We will look into the Gautrain point, and ensure that our TEAM are well informed.
Thanks for staying with us, and for your feedback - see you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing