We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky , Fun and Slick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Have stayed here several times on business and always enjoyed the atmosphere, service and attention to detail. Was transiting thru joburg with my wife and 5 year old son and we were blown away by what greeted us when we got to our room! A kiddies bed made up with his favourite cartoon characters bedding and toys all over the room .....a kids paradise. Thanks to all the team and the excellent GM Jo Segers .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinothegreekCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Melrose Arch Hotel this year. The experience was fantastic, from the friendly & professional greeting we received from the reception staff to the stunning, comfortable, world class accommodation. It must be mentioned that the food was absolutely superb, undoubtedly in a class of its own! My most grateful and awed compliments to all the staff at The March Restaurant, from the servers and hostess who attended to us that evening to the completely talented and fantastic people behind the scenes! We have recommended the Hotel and the Restaurant to many of our friends and will continue to do so! For first class accommodation, 'out of this world' dining and exceptional service, there simply is NO alternative! A first class Restaurant & Hotel, completely unparalleled in my opinion! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I've stayed at the Melrose Arch Hotel several times now, and there is always something new to experience there. It's in a secure community, with shops and great restaurants within the compound, and it always feels very safe. Jo'burg can be a daunting place for Americans and Europeans, so the Melrose Arch is definitely an oasis with some familiar comforts. Rooms are nice, though a bit odd shaped, with some very eclectic art work and decorations. All in all, it works well and is quite comfortable. Staff are very pleasant, always with a smile and willing to help. Service in the bar area and restaurant can be spotty, but this is Africa after all, and so it was just fine. The hotel itself is nice, well kept, again with some interesting decor, but somehow it all works (still don't get why the elevators are decorated the way they are, will have to ask next time I'm there). In summary, a good safe place to stay, very convenient to the city and airport, and worth staying while in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveler_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Melrose Arch is situated in a gated community, in-between Stanton & Jo'burg, about 35 mins from Tambo International airport (traffic permitting). Melrose Arch, is a modern hotel with excellent amenities, it does however feel as though the owners have been influenced by every boutique hotel around the world, they have thrown everything into this one, and it doesn't quite hang together, there are just too many clashes of design styling.
Having said that, its a comfortable hotel and in a great location for shopping, bars and dining.
Having overheard at check-in that we'd just got married, 10 mins after arriving they delivered a lovely gateau, with congratulations piped in chocolate on the plate - a nice touch :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed here for one night in September 2011 on business. The hotel is well located in Melrose arch which is very safe and secure. The staff were very friendly and service was excellent at reception, the bar and restaurant. The room was lovely with an excellent open plan bathroom and large bath complete with rubber ducks which was nice touch.

One downside is that there is no in room safe which was a surprise but apart from that it was an excellent stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was visiting Johannesburg on business for 10 days earlier in September and on arrival i was pleasently surprised by the look and feel of the place. It looked good and gave the feeling of a niche boutique hotel.
Unfortunately that was as good as it got. Over the 10 days the service got progressively worse and come the end there simply wasnt enough room on the feedback form to take all the negatives.
Where to start.......basically none of the staff are trained adequately........delivering exceptionally slow service....with an attitude to match. Its surprising given the volume of staff, as they are in abundance but simple tasks like getting a drink delivered took 6 waiting staff 30 minutes to deliver. Food orders arrived incorrectly and after 45minutes. Not what you expect when ordering a sandwhich.
Rooms were serviced late in the day, and when one day i broke a glass in the room i informed hoursekeeping who took over 6 hours to clean it up and every day for the next 4 days i asked for a replacement glass which never arrived.
I had some time at the pool, however the pool only had 6 sunbeds....to cater for a hotel with over 100 rooms! Asking for an extra bed took over 1hr to come. On that day the hotel had a holiday reps conference which was held by the pool. Surely they should have warned the residents in advance as the whole day was ruined by excessive noise and over 100 people. Its safe to say during that day the service was even worse.
Ordering a taxi at reception was the equivalent in complexity to arranging a trip to Mars! 3 people later and directed to 2 different desks for 1 taxe taking me 15minutes down the road.
Finally when checking out I asked for the duty manager and very politely explained that whilst the hotel seemed nice the service was appalling and needed much work. I accurately detailed all my complaints at which point i was informed it would be investigated and i would receive an email in due course. Not 1 apology and as expected this email never arrived. So if the duty manager at a 5 star hotel cant get it right then its unfair to expect all his subordinates to get anywhere close.
In summary do not stay at this hotel. Its over priced, which exceptionally poor service. You will leave feeling you've been fleeced and generally very fed up with the bad experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 159traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Melrose Arch for 2 nights in August, prior to our safari and then another night in September, after our safari.

The hotel is very modern and the rooms are very comfortable. They have loads of amenities, including a pullout coffee bar. This is also the only hotel I have ever stayed in that provides your very own rubber ducks in the bathroom (loved it). When we came back in September, after being in the bush for 15 nights, I really appreciated the luxury and comfort of the hotel.

On both visits the staff were very friendly and helpful, including arranging for transportation to the airport and allowing us a 4:00 PM checkout time, since we had a late flight back to the states. Check in was very easy and you are provided with a cold glass of juice while checking in. The hotel provides wi-fi, which is another big plus. .

Breakfast was excellent. They have a buffet with a large assortment of items, but you can also order anything from the menu. This is the only breakfast buffet I have ever seen that had oysters and caviar.

The hotel is in a perfect location. You can walk to many restaurants and all three that we tried on our nights there, had excellent food.

I would highly recommend Melrose Arch. Also for those just returning from safari, and connecting through Johannesburg, an overnight stay here prior to the long flight back to the states, gives you time to relax and get organized for the return home.

Prior to our safari to Zambia, we stayed in Joberg for two days because we had booked custom tours with Robin Binckes of “Spear of the Nation”. Robin does very specialized historical tours and he is absolutely amazing. In retrospect our two days with Robin turned out to be the highlight of our entire trip. You can see more about Robin’s services on his web site. http://www.spearofthenation.co.za/

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $122 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing