We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed July 4, 2013

They have a friendly staff, very good infrastructure. I only stayed there for one day, but that was enough to recommend it. The dinner and breakfast were amazing, I could finally taste the flavor of good food after some time travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Fernando M

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Midrand. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed at this location a number of times over the last 2 years and have found it excellent value.

The hotel whilst not being in the best immediate surrounds are secure and gated and make the guest feel very safe. It is well located for the motorway and surrounding facilities.

Reception and breakfast staff are very helpful and any queries dealt with promptly.

I always use this hotel when flying in and out of OR Tambo Airport or watching cricket at Centurion / Wanderers, as while it is not the closest I find it is the best value.

Wireless Internet is good, but could be better value; breakfast is good quality but relatively expensive.

Room Tip: Have only ever stayed in a ground floor room, and find these to be excellent. Ask for a no-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear PatrickJones

Thank you for the review for our hotel, we appreciate the positive feedback.

Thank you for the loyalty you have shown to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staffs were very helpful and professional. It is a small gated hotel right behind the convention centre. This was very convenient for me as I didn’t have to spend money on taxis. Very nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear DrD74

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel only for one night in March. The hotel is aesthetically appealing. There is some safe parking even though it's uncovered parking. Check in was quick. Friendly staff.The lift was not working, so we carried our bags up to the third floor unassisted... Struggled to use the entrance card, but got the knack of it when a friendly maid assisted us. Comfortable beds and nice enough room. The kettle's cord was too short so we had to boil water on the floor...
The mainstay of our disappointment was when my wife could not sleep due to a bad headache, I finally went down to reception to ask if they had any form of analgesia (Paracetamol, aspirin an many more combinations are freely available in the RSA). They had no such thing at all, in the whole hotel? So the man at reception advised me to walk over to the closest garage which was 4 lanes opposite the hotel. He said the security guard would accompany me. The guard refused when I got to the gate. I asked him to at least watch me walk over. The garage refused to open the doors and LUCKILY sold me some aspirin and paracetamol through the outside pay slot. I walked back and found that I had been locked out of the gate and the guard never watched me walk over the large road in the middle of the night in the middle of Johannesburg? I am a South African and there is a reason why the garage did not even want to open it's doors (Crime). So why oh why would the hotel staff not act in the best interest of their guests??
We had a quiet room away from the highway, sleep came easily enough.
Checkout was quick, and accompanied by friendly smiles.
This is a nice enough hotel. But they do not seem to be wanting to go the extra mile for their patrons.
So, like the title says: Acceptable, but disappointed

Room Tip: Room at the back, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jurief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Midrand. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As hotel policy we are not to issue any medication. As for your complaint towards security we will address this matter with the relevant department. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

great value hotel, adjescent pub with good food.
not too big but nice and clean rooms.
helpfull and friendly staff.racing track and golf courses around the corner.
quiet and easy to reach, would always recommend it for a couple of days

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank netfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear netfix

We much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

we were looking for an hotel near the airport which was suggested by Booking.com or at least inferred. The taxi fare to and from the airport was much more than the room. Room was adequate but there is no restaurant (Irish Pub next door) and is on an expressway in and industrial area.
Nothing wrong with this as a basic hotel but not what we wanted. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACCOR332
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
11.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#39 of 66 in Johannesburg
20 reviews
11.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
172 reviews
17.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#5 of 10 in Midrand
35 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
422 reviews
16.1 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#22 of 66 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel

Address: Old Pretoria Road | Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $41 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Midrand is ideally situated in the heart of Midrand's business district. This contemporary 3-star hotel offers accommodation at affordable rates and its comfortable rooms are perfect for travellers. And English breakfast buffet is served daily, and 500mb free Wi-Fi service is provided. Small meetings can be held in the hotel's boardroom -styled meeting room. The hotel is within walking distance of the Gallagher Convention Centre and a in easy reach of the Mall of Africa. With 92 comfortable air-conditioned standard double or twin rooms, with an easy chair, desk, satellite TV, telephone, electronic safe, hairdryer an en-suite bathroom with vanity hand basin, shower and toilet. One suite is available for people with reduced mobility. Paid shuttle services is available on request. With 24 hour security and exceptional service delivery our guest can sit back and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Accor Johannesburg Midrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing