We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Value Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staffs were very helpful and professional. It is a small gated hotel right behind the convention centre. This was very convenient for me as I didn’t have to spend money on taxis. Very nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear DrD74

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
19
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel only for one night in March. The hotel is aesthetically appealing. There is some safe parking even though it's uncovered parking. Check in was quick. Friendly staff.The lift was not working, so we carried our bags up to the third floor unassisted... Struggled to use the entrance card, but got the knack of it when a friendly maid assisted us. Comfortable beds and nice enough room. The kettle's cord was too short so we had to boil water on the floor...
The mainstay of our disappointment was when my wife could not sleep due to a bad headache, I finally went down to reception to ask if they had any form of analgesia (Paracetamol, aspirin an many more combinations are freely available in the RSA). They had no such thing at all, in the whole hotel? So the man at reception advised me to walk over to the closest garage which was 4 lanes opposite the hotel. He said the security guard would accompany me. The guard refused when I got to the gate. I asked him to at least watch me walk over. The garage refused to open the doors and LUCKILY sold me some aspirin and paracetamol through the outside pay slot. I walked back and found that I had been locked out of the gate and the guard never watched me walk over the large road in the middle of the night in the middle of Johannesburg? I am a South African and there is a reason why the garage did not even want to open it's doors (Crime). So why oh why would the hotel staff not act in the best interest of their guests??
We had a quiet room away from the highway, sleep came easily enough.
Checkout was quick, and accompanied by friendly smiles.
This is a nice enough hotel. But they do not seem to be wanting to go the extra mile for their patrons.
So, like the title says: Acceptable, but disappointed

Room Tip: Room at the back, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jurief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Midrand. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As hotel policy we are not to issue any medication. As for your complaint towards security we will address this matter with the relevant department. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

great value hotel, adjescent pub with good food.
not too big but nice and clean rooms.
helpfull and friendly staff.racing track and golf courses around the corner.
quiet and easy to reach, would always recommend it for a couple of days

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank netfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear netfix

We much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

we were looking for an hotel near the airport which was suggested by Booking.com or at least inferred. The taxi fare to and from the airport was much more than the room. Room was adequate but there is no restaurant (Irish Pub next door) and is on an expressway in and industrial area.
Nothing wrong with this as a basic hotel but not what we wanted. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Our room was broken into and our valuables stolen. The hotel management did not show any concern until we confronted them from information regarding the theft a few days later. This I not palace I would recommend if safety of self and goods is of priority.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Selek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
10.4 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#43 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chisam Guest Lodge Pty Ltd
Chisam Guest Lodge Pty Ltd
#57 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
9.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
20.6 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#37 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Property: Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Address: Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the business district, 30 minutes from OR Tambo international airport, 20 minutes from Sandton Convention Centre, within walking distance of the Gallagher Estate, the biggest conference centre in the southern hemisphere. 92 comfortable airconditioned rooms, secure outdoor parking. Pay shuttle service on request. 24 hour security. The restaurant is open from Monday to Friday (6.30 a.m.-10.30 a.m.) and on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays (7.00 a.m.-11.00 a.m.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Accor Johannesburg Midrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing