We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False/Unethical Reward Scheme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
An Accor traveler
Johannesburg, South Africa
13
Reviewed February 7, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 108 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Amanzimtoti
1
Reviewed January 23, 2012

the location of the hotel and the website were fantastic.
it was very easy to find, the booking and the reservation was fast and reliable.
All service in reception and in the room were on high expectations. i will be glad to be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nelspruit, South Africa
22
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I made the reservation utilising the Internet. Upon arrival I was told that I had not paid, despite completing this process via the Hotels website. I required a place of safety to store my Notebook and iPad, the Receptionist informed me that a safe was available in my room. When I enterd the room I placed the devices and other valuables in the safe provided and attemted to set the electronic lock - unfortunately the battery power which enables the lock had run flat. I contacted Reception to rectify the problem, I was however informed that this was not possible. They could move me to another room or I could store my valuables within the Reception Safe-deposit area. I real and frustrating inconvenience. Breakfast was totally over priced.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

it was overall a good stay,conveniently located between joburg and pretoria,so it will be best bet to have transport of your own.reception staff was friendly and helpfull.it is near the Boulders shopping mall,and also other shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatronCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Its a very good bed and breakfast, idealy located for people travelling for work, not really for the tourists. It does not have room service but you can order delivery from various restaurants in Jo'burg or just in front of the hotel you have one of the cities largest malls so you could dine there. The rooms are average, again they are good for business travellers not really too many frills. Each unit has a small kitchen. Service as some of the earlier comments state varies a lot. The breakfasts are really good, wish they did dinners too. Its in a quieter part of town and a good 20-30 minutes from some of the sites.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The Mercure Hotel in Midrand is ideally situated for anybody needing to go to Gallaghar Estate. It's just a short drive (some even walked) from the hotel to the conference and exhibition centre. I wouldn't recommend it to tourists though as its far away from the tourists sites and in the middle of a business area. Was very impressed when I saw that the hotel contributes to the planting of a tree if you re-use your towls for 3 days by hanging it up. Big was my disappointment when I found that even if you hang up your towls, they still replace them. Duh?!?!? What's the use? Another problem is that they have no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

A good hotel with decent breakfasts. Had a great view. But service was a bit spotty. Depended on who was working at the front desk. Rooms are average to small (at least the one we had). More of a business hotel than a tourism one. Efficiency seems to be top priority.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goboy776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
11.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
174 reviews
6.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#4 of 9 in Midrand
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
434 reviews
9.7 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
189 reviews
17.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel

Address: Old Pretoria Rd, Halfway House, Midrand | Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $40 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Midrand is ideally situated in the heart of Midrand's business district. This contemporary 3-star hotel offers accommodation at affordable rates and its comfortable rooms are perfect for travellers. And English breakfast buffet is served daily, and 500mb free Wi-Fi service is provided. Small meetings can be held in the hotel's boardroom -styled meeting room. The hotel is within walking distance of the Gallagher Convention Centre and a in easy reach of the Mall of Africa. With 92 comfortable air-conditioned standard double or twin rooms, with an easy chair, desk, satellite TV, telephone, electronic safe, hairdryer an en-suite bathroom with vanity hand basin, shower and toilet. One suite is available for people with reduced mobility. Paid shuttle services is available on request. With 24 hour security and exceptional service delivery our guest can sit back and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Accor Johannesburg Midrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing