We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
A TripAdvisor Member
Nelspruit, South Africa
22
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I made the reservation utilising the Internet. Upon arrival I was told that I had not paid, despite completing this process via the Hotels website. I required a place of safety to store my Notebook and iPad, the Receptionist informed me that a safe was available in my room. When I enterd the room I placed the devices and other valuables in the safe provided and attemted to set the electronic lock - unfortunately the battery power which enables the lock had run flat. I contacted Reception to rectify the problem, I was however informed that this was not possible. They could move me to another room or I could store my valuables within the Reception Safe-deposit area. I real and frustrating inconvenience. Breakfast was totally over priced.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

it was overall a good stay,conveniently located between joburg and pretoria,so it will be best bet to have transport of your own.reception staff was friendly and helpfull.it is near the Boulders shopping mall,and also other shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatronCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Its a very good bed and breakfast, idealy located for people travelling for work, not really for the tourists. It does not have room service but you can order delivery from various restaurants in Jo'burg or just in front of the hotel you have one of the cities largest malls so you could dine there. The rooms are average, again they are good for business travellers not really too many frills. Each unit has a small kitchen. Service as some of the earlier comments state varies a lot. The breakfasts are really good, wish they did dinners too. Its in a quieter part of town and a good 20-30 minutes from some of the sites.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The Mercure Hotel in Midrand is ideally situated for anybody needing to go to Gallaghar Estate. It's just a short drive (some even walked) from the hotel to the conference and exhibition centre. I wouldn't recommend it to tourists though as its far away from the tourists sites and in the middle of a business area. Was very impressed when I saw that the hotel contributes to the planting of a tree if you re-use your towls for 3 days by hanging it up. Big was my disappointment when I found that even if you hang up your towls, they still replace them. Duh?!?!? What's the use? Another problem is that they have no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

A good hotel with decent breakfasts. Had a great view. But service was a bit spotty. Depended on who was working at the front desk. Rooms are average to small (at least the one we had). More of a business hotel than a tourism one. Efficiency seems to be top priority.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goboy776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The hotel is located in Midrand, a modern small city with a central business district located between Jo'burg and Pretoria. It is located in a safe area with some shops around (petrol station opposite, Pizza Express, Restaurants etc.). The staff was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. As we booked a very special online rate we did not expect so much. But the rooms were clean, adequate, a lot of TV channels, the bathroom was also very clean. We had no opportunity to test the breakfeast. However, the staff was very heldfull all the time, they did phone calls for us, reserved other hotels of the Accor Group etc. Overall, it is a good hotel with a excellent price rate in a safe area. They have also own (safe) parking facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank frawey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

1. Is in the middle of no where, taxis prices in the hotel are double or triple, when if you keepa number from another taxi is so much cheaper and nicer service.

2. The receptionist people are soo not happy to help you, they try to do what you ask but they put long faces, the service is not tipppicak for the Mercure hotels.

3. We arrived late and in the final of the world cup, they put us in this disable room with no working heater, so it was sooo cold, the next day we ask to be mooved and again long faces but we got another room with heater "working" but still cold and with lost of noise because is on the first floor.

4. WE ask non smoking and the pillows smell smoke same as carpet, there is NO ROOM SERVICE, there is nooo restaurants around that are open after 10pm but McDonalds.

In my opinion and experience with MErcure hotels , this one was TERRIBLE,

I don't recommend it at all!! (better to stay in a lodge if all hotels in Jobourg are booked)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anilu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
11.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#43 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
11.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
170 reviews
17.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#28 of 66 in Johannesburg
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#5 of 10 in Midrand
35 reviews
15.2 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Address: Old Pretoria Road | Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $42 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the business district, 30 minutes from OR Tambo international airport, 20 minutes from Sandton Convention Centre, within walking distance of the Gallagher Estate, the biggest conference centre in the southern hemisphere. 92 comfortable airconditioned rooms, secure outdoor parking. Paid shuttle service on request. 24 hour security. The restaurant is open for Breakfast from Monday to Friday (6.30 a.m.-10.30 a.m.) and on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays (7.00 a.m.-11.00 a.m.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Accor Johannesburg Midrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing