We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court Eastgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Eastgate
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Simple hotel convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great business hotel, only 15 min from OR Tambo.

Across the road from Eastgate shopping mall. This is a huge shopping centre.

The rooms are simple and you need to pay extra for wifi.
The price is not cheap so if you are expecting something very special rather choose another hotel.
South Africa needs to catch up with the rest of the world when it comes to free wifi.

The breakfast is also simple but included in room price.

The staff are very friendly!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    64
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
37
29
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 Nights at this Hotel and i must say that the staff is very courteous and helpful. Food is excellent ( except for veg choices which is very limited).
The Room is neat and tidy and very comfortable.
The Mall is just across the street and is walking distance from the hotel. Transfers can be organized for reasonable tarifs, to Sandton or even to the airport.
All in all, it has been a very good experience and i would recommend it to fellow travellers.
As a closing line, i would say that it was quite safe to walk around the Hotel and mall even after 6 PM, but then, might just be a question of luck!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Garden court with my wife and 2 little kids during a family vacation to South Africa.We stayed a night but it was worth it-maybe because it was a weekend. (i understand the hotel is busier on week days).Close to Eastgate mall,arguably the biggest in South Africa.The hotel is in a great location.The rooms are tidy and all facilities are available and functional,bathroom is ok,courteous staff.The hotel is just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolamide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

As an overnight stop in Jo'burg, the Garden Court Eastgate is easily found and has secure parking, good customers service, comfortable if a little non-descript rooms and decent food.
The staff at reception were helpful, the room was equipped with everything we needed and I'd say this was a good 3 star hotel to stay at whilst in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivechickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night due to early flight out in the morning. We were told on booking that the hotel operates and airport shuttle service every 5 - 10 minutes, landed at night and went to wait, after half an hour no sign of the bus so we telephoned the hotel who said that the bus was nearly at the airport and that they ran constantly. We waited another 40 minutes telephoned the hotel after 30 minutes, who said the same thing and when questioned put the phone down, we called back to find out that the bus was just sat at the hotel. No apology, no explanation, not even good manners were shown.

We eventually arrived at the hotel, rooms are very basic and air con is very noisy so don't expect much sleep. On the positive front the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escapeebristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was my first stay at the Garden Court East Gate, although it was my 7th trip to South Africa. The rooms were clean, roomy and very comfortable. I like the convenience of having a restaurant to eat dinner so we did not have to go out after dark. The value of the rooms and food was excellent. Staff were very cordial and helpful...especially William, our shuttle driver. Our luggage was stored for us until our 4 pm ride to Tambo. I most definitely would recommend and stay at the Garden Court East Gate on future trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasboy, General Manager at Garden Court Eastgate, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good day Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive feedback, will pass on your positive feedback to my staff.

Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a high standard which they have been very consistent upon. Rooms are superb (in terms comfort and cleanliness), food is excellent and the staff is very friendly and professional.

Absolutely loved my stay. Will always stay there....

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartanTella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
5.2 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#26 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
0.0 mi away
Chisam Guest Lodge Pty Ltd
Chisam Guest Lodge Pty Ltd
#59 of 70 in Johannesburg
2.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
5.9 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Eastgate

Property: Garden Court Eastgate
Address: Ernest Oppenheimer Avenue | Bruma, Johannesburg 2026, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Eastgate 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers proximity to the CBD, while ensuring that guests can enjoy a slower pace during their downtime. Within minutes of the O.R. Tambo International Airport, the Garden Court Eastgate also offers easy access to a range of leisure activities in the vicinity. It is on the doorstep of the Eastgate Mall, one of the country’s largest shopping centres. Set amidst attractive gardens, the hotel also offers excellent facilities including wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Court Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Garden Court Eastgate Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing