We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2146, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
ZAR 1,050 (ZAR)
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the comfort, location and service. Breakfast is rich and tasty and I have no comments apart from 1 major point which is very signifficant for people like myself - the Internet supply in this hotel is slow, inefficient, and annoying! In my opinion - it MUST be improved asap!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DotyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssmonte, Manager at Garden Court Morningside Sandton, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please see the response sent directly to your profile earlier today,

Kindest Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    86
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
27
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The title says it all. Could be a holiday inn in any modern suburb. Far from anything of interest. Price was reasonable, service was fine. Food options were mediocre. Need to take a taxi anywhere, even to the train

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenasia, South Africa
Level Contributor
329 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Impressed with the staff, very helpful. Rooms quite basic, missed the mini bar. Room comfortable, looks recently refurbished, not sure. Room and bathroom were not bad, basic and quite tight. Breakfast buffet not bad. Not too much of a variety but covers all the basics sufficiently. Once again, impressed with the service here...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The room was clean enough (but smelly - a non smoking room was not available) and the bed comfortable. Staff was very friendly and the location was great (very close to Sandton City Mall) but not much variety in breakfast.

Room Tip: Always opt for a non-smoking room if available. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiprianMorar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am a frequent visitor usually on business but have been there with my wife for leisure a few times. The staff are friendly and recognise me by name. They certainly bend over backwards to make me feel comfortable. The rooms are clean and the beds firm and comfortable. Appreciate the availability of feather pillows for my troubled neck. I was there for close to two months in a state of the art refurbished room in my last visit for both business and couples. My wife and I thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine at the newly opened restuarant on the complex. Yes it is home far away from home for me. Thanks.- Stanley Mpofu

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are cooler and quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STANLEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip. Staff were very friendly, bed was very comfortable but otherwise a pretty unremarkable hotel (which was fine for two nights on a business trip). Rooms were clean with no minibar facilities and the usual amount of space to walk around a double bed. Breakfast spread was reasonably good but the coffee was only machine standard (ie. awful). All in all not too bad for the price and I could tick the priority boxes of friendly, welcoming staff and a clean room with a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When on business in the Sandton area I always make a point of trying to stay in this hotel. It is good value for money and situated away from the bustle of Sandton. However, it is close enough to some great restaurants in the Sandton Square area. A steakhouse is currently been built on the hotel property and should open in 2013. If eating out, get the really friendly reception staff to organise you a reasonably priced taxi, and avoid the really expensive rip off taxis at Sandton Square. The hotel serves great breakfasts and has a really nice pool area to enjoy an evening drink. The room are clean and spacious, however, the bathrooms are starting to show their age with peeling wallpaper. Great all round hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#16 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#22 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Morningside Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Property: Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Address: Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Morningside Sandton 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers its guests comfort and affordable luxury in the heart of one of the city’s most fashionable suburbs. Allowing convenient access to many of Joburg’s attractions, it is the ideal base from which to conduct business or engage in leisure pursuits. Morningside offers convenience, but still provides peace and quiet at the city’s perimeter, so that visitors can relax amidst the bustle of this vibrant metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and ETB so you can book your Garden Court Morningside Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Morningside Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing