We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times now. Bringing the kids was not a problem. The room was big enough for a couple and 2 kids. Good selection for breakfast, though variety wasn't changing much when we stayed for 3 nights, though fresh daily. The staff were friendly and helpful. Kids enjoyed the pool and the gym was great as well. Wifi available and affordable. Not much activities during the holidays though. Worth the rate!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabsGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    86
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
27
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Morningside Garden Court is situated very close to the Hub of Sandton, close to MonteCasino and other shopping areas, but just far enough to be peaceful and quiet. Love the location, it has a beautiful pool as well as a gym for those that want to work out before a super breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise - but are only accessible by able people as the hotel does not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great hotel, offering great value for money, great location, service and rooms. In general our stay was splendid and i would recommend the hotel to all my firneds and people wanting to be in a vibey and great area for perfect prices. The Breakfast was superb and the staff a pleasure. Porters smiling and reception staff over friendly- what a pleasure. Good job team!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My experience with Garden Court Morningside was a very pleasant one. We received great value for the prices we paid. The staff was friendly, our room was clean, the breakfast was good and the hotel has a great location. I will with out a doubt stay here again. Great value!

Room Tip: Book a few weeks before your stay - great prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recently stayed three nights. I'm a frequent traveler, and this was one of the most pleasant stays I've had in a three star hotel. Clean, good breakfast, pleasant well-lit lobby and outdoor tables, good locations. But most notable was the staff. Very competent and helpful. On the first day there was a small delay in getting a taxi, so the manager himself drove me to Sandton City mall. The next day I had a broken suit button. The entire staff went to work, one sewing, another driving to the nearest store to pick up a selection of buttons to find one that matched. Problem solved in a matter of minutes. On the third day, I left my converter in the lobby socket and it disappeared. The staff gave me a replacement and treated me to dinner. After a long trip and a string of hotels, this was a pleasant and productive stay and very reasonably priced. I'm grateful to the staff and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

What a dive. We arrived at the hotel around 10pm, and i was told they had no non-smoking rooms available (this is specified on my reservation). Eventualy i was given a non smoking room, that according to the reception, had been cleaned and was ready for guests. The desk in the room was so dirty, I could not put my suitcase on it. I called for someone to come and clean it. Even the cleaner was shocked. The toilet seat and not been cleaned, the corners were full of cobwebs, and I don't think the carpet has seen a vacuum cleaner this decade. The cupboards are definitely not cleaned as previous guests hand marks are still clearly visibly. The blankets are old and dirty. If it was any earlier in the day, I would have checked out immediately. I am just grateful there were no bedbugs!
The next morning I tried the gym, the state of the equipment is not much better. Pilates balls are flat, mats are dirty and there is no water.
My experience did not improve with breakfast either - muesli was stale and the eggs for omelettes are artificial.
When I went to tell the manager about my experience, she said she had heard that my room was dusty.....
This hotel will not be seeing me again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Garden Court Morningside and booked 2 rooms for 3 adults and 2 small children - both with 2 double beds each. The hotel is situated just off Rivonia Road and is 5 minutes from Sandton City Mall, 15 minutes from Montecasino, 30 minutes from OR Tambo airport and walking distance to McDonalds, a shopping centre and a few garages.

Our check in was smooth and we were given both rooms immediately. My sons even received a special welcome pack for kids and were kept entertained for hours with the goodie bag.
The rooms are adequate for 2 adults and 2 children. The TV is unfortunately quite small and the aircon quite loud, however the rooms have comfortable beds and a nice bathroom with a separate shower, basin and bath. You get body wash, soap, shampoo and a shower cap in your bathroom. Other toiletries like, lotion, shavers etc can be ordered from reception free of charge. The room has a lovely tea/coffee making facility and is replenished daily with tea, coffees, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits. The hotel is not noisy and is quite pleasant if you have a room facing the pool.

The breakfast room is small when the hotel is busy but there is additional seating on the terrace overlooking the pool. We ate outside twice and it was lovely taking in the morning sun. Breakfast is really good for a 3 star hotel. They cater for all tastes and have a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, a wonderful hot breakfast selection of lamb/chicken/pork sausages, eggs, veggies as well as fresh juices, a selection of muffins and an amazing automatic coffee machine, offering over 6 different drinks. Their feshly baked croissants are delicious! The staff at breakfast are awesome, friendly and so accommodating. They will even bring you, your drinks or eggs if you ask them to.

The hotel has a pool and a small fitness centre which has the standard excerise machines. The security at the hotel is great, with controlled entry and exit at all times. Room service is open from 17h30 till 22h00 and has a good selection of meals and desserts.

The hotel is great value for money and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durban21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#16 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Morningside Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Property: Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Address: Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Morningside Sandton 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers its guests comfort and affordable luxury in the heart of one of the city’s most fashionable suburbs. Allowing convenient access to many of Joburg’s attractions, it is the ideal base from which to conduct business or engage in leisure pursuits. Morningside offers convenience, but still provides peace and quiet at the city’s perimeter, so that visitors can relax amidst the bustle of this vibrant metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and ETB so you can book your Garden Court Morningside Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Morningside Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing