We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A good, central hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A good, central hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Garden Court Morningside and booked 2 rooms for 3 adults and 2 small children - both with 2 double beds each. The hotel is situated just off Rivonia Road and is 5 minutes from Sandton City Mall, 15 minutes from Montecasino, 30 minutes from OR Tambo airport and walking distance to McDonalds, a shopping centre and a few garages.

Our check in was smooth and we were given both rooms immediately. My sons even received a special welcome pack for kids and were kept entertained for hours with the goodie bag.
The rooms are adequate for 2 adults and 2 children. The TV is unfortunately quite small and the aircon quite loud, however the rooms have comfortable beds and a nice bathroom with a separate shower, basin and bath. You get body wash, soap, shampoo and a shower cap in your bathroom. Other toiletries like, lotion, shavers etc can be ordered from reception free of charge. The room has a lovely tea/coffee making facility and is replenished daily with tea, coffees, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits. The hotel is not noisy and is quite pleasant if you have a room facing the pool.

The breakfast room is small when the hotel is busy but there is additional seating on the terrace overlooking the pool. We ate outside twice and it was lovely taking in the morning sun. Breakfast is really good for a 3 star hotel. They cater for all tastes and have a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, a wonderful hot breakfast selection of lamb/chicken/pork sausages, eggs, veggies as well as fresh juices, a selection of muffins and an amazing automatic coffee machine, offering over 6 different drinks. Their feshly baked croissants are delicious! The staff at breakfast are awesome, friendly and so accommodating. They will even bring you, your drinks or eggs if you ask them to.

The hotel has a pool and a small fitness centre which has the standard excerise machines. The security at the hotel is great, with controlled entry and exit at all times. Room service is open from 17h30 till 22h00 and has a good selection of meals and desserts.

The hotel is great value for money and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durban21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    92
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
31
17
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vryheid
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights recently. The rooms are small but tidy. The aircon is outdated and noisy. The tv is so small it would be better on the seatback for a long haul flight.
I am a member of their frequent guest program and paid for the room using points. I was not greeted by name at reception as is the standard for frequent guests at the Southern Sun hotels. They also asked how I planned to pay for the room and when I explained and showed them again the confirmation papers from the website there was a lot of umming and eventually the reception lady went away to sort out the issue. I was made to wait almost 30 min while they sorted out their paperwork. It was all in order as I had pointed out. I didn't need that after a long drive.
On a positive the pool area is lovely and the breakfast was excellent. On the first day it would have been nice if the Macon had been labelled as such instead of being called bacon but that is a small niggle.
I don't think I would stay here again for a weekend away as it does not meet the normal Garden Court standards but it would be fine for an overnight business stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side and on the right from reception. Rooms to the left face a very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. The rooms are ok but the tv is too small for a garden court hotel. Bathroom is spacious with seperate shower and bath. The best part of the hotel is the swimming pool and the gardens surrounding the it. Breakfast room can get full easily as it is not very not. Breakfast was fantastic. Would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I Stayed at the hotel for three nights. The place is reasonable priced. The rooms are clean, very friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkosinathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel staff to be one of the friendliest in a long time. Rooms could be improved as they are looking a bit run down.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for three days while on business around Sandton. For Its price its quite a decent place, the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The only downside being nothing much happens in the evening, dint mind this because always had to plan for the next days meetings anyway.
Would definately stay here again

Charles Washika

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khacheso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Gauteng
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Dear Madam, I stayed at the Morningside Garden court and also experianced the water problem . I aslo was inconvienced by the lack of water BUT to blame the hotel for this is inconcievable. Management did their utmost to ensure that there was ample water for toilet flushing . They also supplied you with bottled water for Tea and Coffee. How did you expect they to supply enought water for bathing??????? I have alway had a wonderful stay at this hotel and find the Managment and staff very accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stansmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
4.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#16 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
8.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Morningside Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Property: Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Address: Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Court Morningside Sandton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers its guests comfort and affordable luxury in the heart of one of the city’s most fashionable suburbs. Allowing convenient access to many of Joburg’s attractions, it is the ideal base from which to conduct business or engage in leisure pursuits. Morningside offers convenience, but still provides peace and quiet at the city’s perimeter, so that visitors can relax amidst the bustle of this vibrant metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Garden Court Morningside Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Morningside Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing