We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of StayEasy Eastgate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
StayEasy Eastgate
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I did a years tour of South Africa and have stayed at many hostels, B&B's and hotels. My first stop was the Stay Easy in Johannesburg which was like a Best western in the states. Comfortable rooms, not luxurious but you are also not paying the price of a luxurious hotel. Every thing in the room and the hotel was very clean and the staff were very kind and helpful. If I visit South Africa in the future I will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderworld223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    64
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
33
24
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I loved the hotel,clean,good,very close to mall,but they could try to change the breakfast daily especially for those staying longer periods

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmkamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights during the 2010 world cup. Rooms were decent size, clean and comfortable.The hotel staff were nice and helpful. The eastgate mall is about a 5 minute walk and we felt safe walking to it during the day and the mall has a good number of restaurants to choose from.

Somewhat far from the central locations like Sandton. You need a car if you plan to travel around Johannesburg.

Gave a low point on value because the room rates were very high during the World Cup. That probably is not the case at other times during the year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l0vetotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

This hotel is well located in a fairly safe area, very close to the freeway from the airport into central Johannesburg but far enough away to be very quiet at night. The trip from the airport takes 25-30 minutes in rush hour traffic and less than 10 minutes without it. Central Joberg is another 20 minutes down the road. Eastgate is a convienient option if you have business in the City and don't fancy hanging around there at night.
The rooms are smallish but fine for one person. There is no closet space but room to hang a few shirts and a suit and a safe big enough for a laptop. The bathroom is miniscule and not scrupulously clean but the shower is good. There is a small swimming pool and a nice gym a few blocks away for which the hotel will sell you a voucher, but few other relaxation facilities. There is no restaurant but there are a number of fast-food places a short drive away. You can walk to the closer ones but the security staff at the hotel do not reccomend it, especially at night. There is a huge mall on the other side of the freeway, 2 minutes drive. I would not stay here without a car.
All the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful and made an effort to remember my name; not something I expect in a hotel that markets itself as a budget stopover place. Breakfast was good. All in all an excellent value for money package.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2005

Great Value for money, small rooms but clean and comfortable, great shower. Decent Breakfast

  • Stayed July 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DawieSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 68 in Johannesburg
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
4.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 68 in Johannesburg
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Eastgate
Garden Court Eastgate
#25 of 68 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
317 reviews
6.1 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#47 of 68 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StayEasy Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StayEasy Eastgate

Property: StayEasy Eastgate
Address: 8 South Boulevard | Bruma, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — StayEasy Eastgate 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For affordable accommodation in the eastern suburbs of Johannesburg choose the StayEasy Eastgate Hotel. Situated midway between the Joburg CBD and the O.R. Tambo International Airport this hotel is a favourite of business and leisure travellers alike. Equipped with all the comforts of home, offering excellent service and great facilities this hotel offers some of the most affordable accommodation you will find in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stayeasy Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing