We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food - reasonably priced”

Cnr Cafe Bistro and Deli
Ranked #49 of 1,208 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Food - reasonably priced”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love this place. As a Joburg resident, I'm a regular visitor. Highly recommended. Have the butternut pizza!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 165LRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    53
    20
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little gem in a residential area”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I had the butternut squash and Gorgonzola pizza which was excellent. The ingredients were
fresh, the coffee was good and the atmosphere jovial. The food did take a little time to arrive but I wouldn't call the service slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoebejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Large menu choice with gorgeous food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm always looking for new places to enjoy an il fresco breakfast or lunch on the weekends. On Sunday, I found the Cnr. Cafe in Craighall Park. It's very unassuming from the outside, but the menu is so extensive, it takes forever to make a choice! When the food arrived, it looked amazing, was a massive portion size (for me) and absolutely delicious!! We even got a taster plate from Pauli's condiments - we bought all 4. A really relaxed, awesome sunny morning with my fiance. I recommend the Cnr. Cafe for any meal, any day. I would glady go there every single day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at a B & B near here and were able to walk to this place. Obviously popular with locals - busy on a Thursday night. Comfortable atmosphere. Servers good - attentive without checking with you every 5 minutes and chatted appropriately with us tourists. Features pizzas and pastas. Claim pasta made on premises. Pasta servings very generous and good. We each had a pasta entree, glass of wine and shared a dessert - all for approximately $26 USD.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dshaw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quaint corner bistro”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great pizza's from an authentic wood pizza oven sets the scene for a family local bistro. Great ambience , good jazz on Sundays.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGray4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cnr Cafe Bistro and Deli also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cnr Cafe Bistro and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing