We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DW 11-13

DW 11-13
Ranked #15 of 1,173 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
JOHANNESBURG
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Went with a bunch of foodie friends and husbands end of last year! Absolutely divine The atmosphere is intimate yet easy The menu very good and the taste better yummy delish but at a price

Helpful?
1 Thank SUESUEJOHANNESBURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    72
    35
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two 50th wedding anniversaries fell flat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our close friends and we shared a 50th wedding anniversary
and we thought that this momentous occasion ( 100 years of marriage amongst only 4 people at one table) deserved a special meal. This restaurant is pretty and the service pleasing. The soup was very ordinary and lacked depth and excitement. Crockery and presentation were however beautiful. We were disappointed that the sous vide chicken was no longer on the menu. The duck main was good. My medallion of beef paired with the meat from an oxtail. had interesting and tasty contrast, but was in fact rather pedestrian. The hake, however was truly disappointing. Hake is a soft fish given easily to crumbling, but this was powdery and should not have been grilled. In summary the meal was OK, but when one compares what one got for the the price charged, I can only say that the fussiness
of the dish designs was the justification for the high price. Fancy food indeed, intricately plated and designed, but not good value in terms of taste and excitement by any stretch of the imagination. A call to Mario promised feedback but none was forthcoming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seftelgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing wine and food pairing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

WOW, this restaurant really knows how to pair wine with food, and not just any food, absolutely delicious and interesting food. A big group of us came here in December 2013 for lunch for the food and wine pairing, and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent - the waiters really know what they are talking about! The food was amazing, although it was a tasting menu so the portions were small. The wines they used were impeccable, and the whole experience was simply amazing! I hope to come back soon when I'm in Joburg again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Top Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had the opportunity to dine at dw eleven-13 with friends. After trying on many occasions to get a booking - they were successful.

We were to disappointed. The food was beautifully plated, almost a shame to eat it. The flavours were amazing and left us wanting more. Needless to say our table of 4 all over indulged in starters, mains and desserts.

Throughout the evening the the service was exceptional, never intrusive - but thoughtful and professional.

dw will definitely see us again - and we now understand why it took us since last year November to get a booking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you are in the mood for a delicious meal that will break the budget a little please go to DW 11-13, the staff are all friendly and the food is out of this world, there are tastes and textures that will get your tongue wagging and salivating for days

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeemersan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DW 11-13 also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to DW 11-13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing