We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food but get there early”

Cafe del Sol Classico
Ranked #1 of 1,212 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding food but get there early”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This bustling italian restaurant has outstanding food and great menu choices. Best to get there early before the specials run out (we arrived at 7.30pm and several were already gone). Service is friendly and helpful and the decor clean and casual. I'd love to come back to try some of the other menu items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    197
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Graham”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food, service and atmosphere the best in Jovi. Do not expect a quiet evening it is a fun experience.Have taken friends from the US and family from UK and they cannot believe a restaurant in Darkest Africa can be of this quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 42mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best Italian restaurant by far - Sea food risotto - the best. Visited the restaurant 3 times and will go back for more

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nielkotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most delicious Italian in Jozi”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great home made nonna's Italian cooking. Just be sure to book a week in advance. The service is good but sitting outside in winter can be fresh. The starters are delicious and the pasta's are incredible

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigmac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very noisy but amazing food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It took us a while to get reservations for Cafe del Sol because we were a group of 10 but we finally managed to organise it and it was well-worth the wait. It's a fairly small place in an out-of-the-way shopping centre but I usually find the best restaurants in the smallest places and this was no exception.
The decor is modern, friendly & appealing and the waiters are very professional and give great service-they're not as charismatic and cheery as some other places I've been to but overall no complaints. At one point the kitchen staff began singing which was definitely a highlight-the kitchen is part of the dining area so you can see and hear your food being prepared as you sit.
The food itself is truly wonderful, the simple bruschetta starter is a fresh taste sensation in small bites while the roasted chicken breast on pea risotto main was simply gorgeous (although the risotto eclipsed the chicken completely and I'd have been happy without just the risotto).
You cannot skip dessert in the restaurant, the presentation is original and stunning and the taste is heavenly. I tried bites of the pavlova, the pannacotta, the affogato, the choc tart and the choc cake and all of them were really truly exceptional-I wouldn't know which one to recommend the most.
The only downside is the noise, the acoustics are very bad and we had to shout at each other to make ourselves heard. I think if we were a smaller group of 2 or 4 people around 1 table it wouldn't have been a problem but in a large group it did effect the meal a little bit. That being said I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Sol Classico also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe del Sol Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing